Mask painting is FUN!

Hi friends! This project took me back to the summer art camps I used to run back in the day before I had kids of my own and actually had the energy to handle large groups of kids all day!


So when the February Smart Art box arrived on my doorstep I knew I would have a good time! Some good news! Smart art is doing another shipment of the February box and giving you a 10% discount but order soon because they ship out March 1st. Smart Art now ships to US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Switzerland and Austria! I love that this company listened to your suggestions. You asked months ago to be able to order the boxes after you saw what was in them and you asked for international shipping and they aim to please. Don’t worry if you’d rather get a surprise box, you can still subscribe and get the boxes a month before everyone else. I think it boils down to the amount of stuff you already have. If you are new or have not branched out into many art forms the subscription is a good bet because it is unlikely that you will have the supplies in the box and the boxes have everything you need to get started in a medium, but if you already dabble in many crafts you might want to wait and see to make sure you aren’t getting supplies you already own.

Now, let’s paint a mask!

That was fun, I think I might try and get more blank masks for the kids class I teach at the library, they would love that!

Paper mask
Acrylic paint (Turner Acryl Gouache)
Ebony Splendor Brushes (#4 round, 1/2″ wash)
Glitter glue

1. Mix paint to create shades of tan and brown and apply with a crumbled paper towel.
2. Add “veins” with brown using the round brush.
3. Add colorful details around the eyes, nose and top of the mask. Let dry.
4. Brush on a coat of glitter glue with the 1/2″ wash brush.
5. Tie elastic (supplies with mask) on and wear!

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Sponsored by Smart Art

2 Responses

  1. Very pretty! You could go to Mardi Gras. Sure is cold here today.


  2. Pretty mask!!


Tell me what YOU think!

