Cheap Marker Review!

Hi friends! Today we are going to take a look at a line of inexpensive markers I picked up on sale at ACmoore (3/$5) a few weeks ago.


You can see them in action in today’s video!

The stamp set I am using is a free Sale-A-Bration stamp set from Stampin up! If you want to order this or anything else from SU and you don’t have a Demo please contact my friend Wendy Cranford.
Price $3.99 regular retail but they were on sale 3/$5 when I bought them (often the 12 pack goes on sale for $19.99 and the singles for 2/$5, I think they go on sale often or maybe they are on sale a lot because they are brand new)

The nibs are similar in quality as prismacolor, chisel and bullet nibs.

Not many colors in range (about 50)

Some of the color indexes on lid do not match the ink color accurately. (not a huge deal if you make a swatch, it is just tough to choose colors when buying going from the display)

Bottom Line:
I like them, they are similar quality to Prismacolors that are $5.50 (actually I think the nibs are identical) but they have fewer colors than Prismas or Promarkers. I have a lot of other alcohol markers so I will use them with what I already have for a good selection. I think they are a good buy for someone who wants to get into markers and not spend a lot (if you get them on sale) just make sure to make a color chart so you can be sure you select the correct color ink. That Is a good idea for any markers.

I have been a slacker on the blog this week, I have a side project that has been consuming most of my time and the kids are off on winter break but I hope to be back posting daily now! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


9 Responses

  1. I do like product reviews and I appreciate you time to do them. I was at my AC Moore this week and did not see the markers. I will go back and look again. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.


  2. Good to know about the markers.  I’ve been using clear gesso for bible journaling and that stuff leaves the paper really rough.  I can imagine it damages the nibs on SU markers and even my Copic markers.  I’m looking for a smoother type of clear gesso.  Peg  Peg Klitch email: email: blog:

    From: Thefrugalcrafters Weblog To: Sent: Saturday, February 20, 2016 7:41 AM Subject: [New post] Cheap Marker Review! #yiv5617882101 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5617882101 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5617882101 a.yiv5617882101primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5617882101 a.yiv5617882101primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5617882101 a.yiv5617882101primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5617882101 a.yiv5617882101primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5617882101 | thefrugalcrafter posted: “Hi friends! Today we are going to take a look at a line of inexpensive markers I picked up on sale at ACmoore (3/$5) a few weeks ago.You can see them in action in today’s video!Pros:Price $3.99 regular retail but they were on sale 3/$5 whe” | |


    • try matte mod podge or matte medium but you really should not use markers on top of it. Watercolor ground might work but is not available in clear


  3. Thanks for your review, Lindsay! I tried to buy them when you did because of the good price but our store did not have them (nor the Spellbinders, Cricut or Sizzix advertised). I did see them later and also noticed that the color range was not the best. I particularly looked for red and they did not have that basic color – the closest were cherry and merlot. I did try out a few and found that the nibs did not seem to be uniform, some made lines that were too thick.

    Thanks for the info that lighter colored alcohol markers are more dry due to more alcohol and less pigment. That makes sense. Those are the colors that I look for because it’s easier to go darker than lighter.


  4. Thanks for the review Lindsay!!! Always good to know!
    Paper Hugs,


  5. Very cute card. We don’t have an AC Moore in Tennessee guess I will have to look when we go to Florida the next time. Hope you are having a good weekend. Nice and warm here,


  6. Thanks for the review, being in the uk these markers aren’t of much interest to me, but good tips on what to look for in a marker. Could you do a video on how to choose colours that will blend well together and which colours to avoid trying to blend together.
    Thanks Melanie x


  7. Too cute. Great coloring with the markers!


  8. Cool makers


Tell me what YOU think!

