Fancy a Tassel?

Howdy friends! Today I am going to show you how to impress your friends and wow your family by making homemade tassels. OK, that might be a bit of an overstatement but they are cute and fun!


And they are very easy! You can use any string, floss or yarn you like (smoother fibers work best) and make these in minutes. I think they look nice on bookmarks.


But really, they are showing up everywhere from home décor and fashion so there has never been a better time to learn to make these beauties and I’ll show you how in today’s video:


1.Cut cardstock 2.5″x8″ to fit in sleeve.
2. Stamp on designs and place bookmark in sleeve.
3. Punch hole in bookmark and set eyelet (optional)
4. Use bakers twine to make tassel and insert in bookmark hole.


Thanks to Papermart for sponsoring this post and thanks to you for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!



9 Responses

  1. Neat, glad you shared that tip with us. Nice book markers. Love it will have to try.


  2. Thanks for sharing that tip on using the back of the stamp, two looks for the price of one! Lovely bookmarks too.


  3. I love these! I give away a lot of books as gifts and it’s nice to include a handmade bookmark. Clever tip with the clear stamps. It’s made me look at mine in a whole new way. Blessings to you, Lindsay! I’m also gonna look for that tassel making tool.


  4. Hi Lindsay🙂
    Thank you so much for showing us how to make such lovely handmade bookmarks. You have given me some ideas and I plan to make some for my friends.
    Best wishes.


  5. Cool idea on how to make use of your stamps in different ways:)


  6. yep really fun and will be sharing with the students.


  7. Thanks for a fun idea. I generally use ribbon but a homemade tassel looks fun.
    Can I please make a big suggestion.. can you make it when someone clicks on your links that it opens a new window instead of taking me away from your site. It is better for both of us, I don’t have to copy and paste and then hit the back button and people stay on your site and you don’t lose readers as fast.
    Thanks for all you do!


    • Bre, if you hold down the CTRL button when you click a link it will open in a new window regardless of how the blogger had it set up. A lot of times the bloggers don’t even know where it is in the settings to change that, and this will cover you either way🙂

      Lindsay, I love the new terminology “stickitude”… it will be just the thing to help me remember the technique. I know I’ve seen this before but I always forget about it. But I won’t forget it now! Thanks girl!


  8. Great idea to do with ones granddaughter, I am returning to my love of art again because of your joy in what you are doing without criticism.
    It is fun again. thanks


Tell me what YOU think!

