Frugal Foiling!

Hi friends! Well, I resisted the urge as long as I could. After many requests from you guys I decided to see if I could foil without buying a foiling machine and toner printer. I dug through my stash and found some foil sheets and metal leaf from the LAST time foiling was all the rage and got to work. I was also curious if I could use the Minc foil because it is available at all the big box stores now so I grabbed a roll of that as well. I don’t have a laser printer or photocopier and although I have a cheap laminator I wanted to use supplies the normal crafter would have so I decided to try this with adhesive tape sheets in my die cut machines.


I had two worries about this method, I was worried that the backing on the adhesive sheet would not stick to my electronic cutting mat but I found that the dull side sticks fine and those cuts turned out well. I was also worried that I would not be able to peel off the backing of the adhesive sheets from the intricate designs from my metal dies (because I was afraid the pressure would bond the backing to the tape) but that too worked a treat!


I discovered that it worked very well with different kinds of foil and metal leaf. I also tested the adhesive with metallic embossing powder and that worked well too! Once I knew the tape could take heat I tried it with micro beads and glitter. This is a fun alternative for detailed sparkle without the foil.


The adhesive sheets and rolls are from our sponsor Craft Chameleon, formally Punch Place Plus. Adhesive is only one of the many supplies they offer and their prices are fantastic, you get 5 of the big sheets I showed you in the video for $5 and the double-sided sticky tape rolls start at $2.50 (way cheaper than the competition)


  • Adhesive sheets & Tape (rolls start at $2.50 and a 5 pack of sheets is only $5)
  • Cardstock
  • Foil and gold leaf (glitter, embossing powder, microbeads and flock can also be used!)
  • Die cut machine or xacto knife/scissors if you want to hand cut your designs.

1.  Cut a design from a sheet of adhesive.
2. Remove the backing and press on cardstock. Remove the other backing paper.
3. Press foil shiny side up on adhesive.
4. Remove the excess foil backing. If using metal leafing remove the excess and save it for another project.

Try this with glitter, beads, flock and more, it is such a fun technique! I hope you enjoyed this technique and it has inspired you to try foiling. It is such a popular look right now and if you can do it with some of the stuff you already have all the better! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


20 Responses

  1. Once again the machines are “foiled” by the frugal crafter! LOL. I wanted to share with you that I have been trying to purchase a “quick stick” to pick up sequins and small papers for some time now, and they never have it at the stores. (I know I can order online) So I tried a chop stick and a glue dot I made myself from tack it over and over glue from aliens – it works great – I think I got the idea of making my own glue dots from you eons ago, and perhaps you have suggested this pick up stick op;ion as well, but if not – let others know!


  2. Thanks so much for this, Lindsay. I had tried to foil by taking stamped images to Kinko, copying with laser printer, and then using my laminator. Way, way too much trouble. This looks like a great, easy option to have some sparkle on my cards!


  3. Great video!! I will have to get some adhesive sheets and try this.


  4. Thanks so much for looking out for us home crafters. So often new products come out that may be in fashion for a while and when they are gone we are stuck with a product that we can no longer get supplies for or use. This is a great alternative for those of us on a budget as well. So simple and sooooooooo pretty. Love your blog and all the great videos, I have learned so much. Thank you


  5. Thank You….Thank You…Thank You……did I say, “Thank You !.”……I was seriously thinking on spending the $$$ to get a Minc machine and you have save me Big Time !!!! I Love your videos….Thank You, again…Take care…………….


  6. Always love your videos! Tried to Oder the double sided craft sheets but they are out of stock. Still called Punch Place Plus. I tried googling Craft Chameleon and got a bar but no craft suppliers. Just letting you know.


  7. Thank you so much Lindsey for sharing this with us…now I can get the foil knowing I can use it without having to buy the mink…


  8. Lindsay…this was amazing!…and as I was watching it, I realized something…you always present us with a VIDEO tutorial! It dawned on me that I expect it!…so, I just want to say – THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR WORK YOU DO TO PRESENT INFO TO US! I really, really appreciate it and you are amazing! Thank you again and again!


  9. You have outdone yourself with this one! Thanks so much!!!


  10. Thanks for showing this. I have looked at the foils and did not know how to use them. I will certainly give them a try. What I really like about your videos, is that you really are frugal and give us ways to use other things that we may have in our stash instead of buying new supplies. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.


  11. I love your ideas! Thank You so much for sharing Your gifts with all. Do you think the foil Technique would work If you used the card stock That has sticky back. Step 1. Peel off backing Step 2. Apply foil on sticky side Step 3. Lay foil side up on cutting Step 4. Use cutter settings as card stock as if no foil was applied

    Apply to card with method of choice

    Thanks Sue Gabbard.

    Sent from my iPhone


  12. This is great. So much more economical than buying a laser printer and laminating machine (or a minc). A good way to try foiling to see if you like it. Just using a few lines of the tape to add a touch of foil would brighten up any card.

    The double sided adhesive sheets are back in stock. It’s a great price. Nice to have a good source for double sided tape as well.


  13. Great video. Hate to invest in another printer or the Minc. I have enough machines. Thanks also for the sponsor , Those prices are great


  14. Thanks so much for this video!!! I had been meaning to try some foiling with adhesive but had been putting it off. I think I bought a roll of Heidi Swapp foil on clearance at Michaels a while back but need to look for it. I do know where my gold and silver leaf flakes are, though so that might come first! LOL!


  15. Great to know! It got me thinking, before buying double-sided sheets, I’m going to try this with my Xyron put through on both sides, or only one side, diecut, foil, then adhere to project like usual. xoxo


  16. Fantastic. I didn’t want to buy a foiling machine and now I don’t need to.


Tell me what YOU think!

