Brush Lettering Basics! Make Quick Cards!

Hi friends! Just a quick tutorial on some easy brush lettering you can do with your watercolors:


You can use a round or cat’s tongue brush for this. Just remember “up light, down heavy.” Confused? You won’t be after today’s video!

The paints I am using are the Gansai Tambi watercolor from Hallmark Scrapbook, and I used a #6 Princeton Cats Tongue but a #6 round will work just as well. I was just using inexpensive watercolor paper for this, a nice heavy cardstock would work too since we are not doing any abrasive techniques or soaking the paper. Seriously, use the paper and paint you have and try it! It’s fun!

Give this a try, and let me know how it goes! Til next time happy crafting!

12 Responses

  1. Great fun writing thank you cards for gifts when we get to paint! Thanks for sharing, Lindsay.


  2. Lindsay you can always make my day brighter. Very pretty.


  3. Thank you so much. I have been practicing lettering. A secret Santa for seniors gave a calligraphy pen for Christmas


  4. I just love your tutorials, especially the watercolor ones. I’d like to give you thumbs up but I don’t see any icon to do so. You are very generous with your talent and I appreciate it very much.


  5. I love your enthusiasm – you are a pleasure to watch – thank you


  6. Very cute and fun! I will try it!


  7. Very nice. I’ve never tried writing with a brush but have used a calligraphy pen only.


  8. I am going to definitely try this one, maybe with my H20 twinkling water colors. Yours turned out great. And as always, thanks for sharing with us!


  9. First a question… as you were coming to the end of the video and finishing off your painting, I was thinking that so many of the cardmakers I follow, would end up by splattering some paint over their creation and I wondered if you would do that or not and sure enough, you did. I have been seeing this “trend” (if that’s what it is) for quite a while now, probably since watercoloring has become so popular with cardmakers and while I do sometimes like the effect, I can’t help but wonder where this idea came from. I’ve wondered who to ask, and when I saw your video today, I thought… ah ha! Lindsay is not just a cardmaker, but a painter and probably knows about the origins of splattering paint over an otherwise neatly done project. LOL! I’ve been wondering for so long who started this paint spattering idea and I sure hope you can tell me.

    i wonder if I will find a “cat’s tongue” paint brush at Hobby Lobby or Michaels??? I bought all kinds of paint brushes at Hobby Lobby a few years back, but I know there was not a cat’s tongue among them and at that time I thought I covered most of the types of brushes they had. But, I was buying for a much different purpose back then… the Donna Dewberry style of painting. So, who knows… maybe they did have a cat’s tongue among their selection and I just didn’t pay any attention to it.

    Thanks so much for the video, i recently bought a set of inexpensive calligraphy markers to play around with, but have been wanting to try the lettering with a paint brush. I also bought a small travel set of watercolor paints a few months back and have not even gotten them out yet to try, so this is the perfect project to start with.


  10. I have something I would like to show you but do not where to upload it…


Tell me what YOU think!

