Stamp School: Colored Pencil Layering for Beginners!

Hi friends! Break out the colored pencils and get ready to feel like a kid again!


I left this tutorial in real-time because it is geared to beginners. I think it is helpful to see how long it takes to build up layers, how to hold the pencils and how much pressure to apply. If it is too slow for you simply play the video then click on the gear at the bottom of the player and you can play it faster, warning, it might make me sound like a deranged chipmunk but at least you can watch it in half the time!

The stamps I am using in today’s tutorial are from our sponsor ArtNeko! Save 10% off your next order of any size or get free shipping on orders over $50 (whichever discount is greater you get!) just by mentioning thefrugalcrafter!


  • Stamps (full set of all 50 states birds & flowers plus bonus images)
  • OR the individual image is available for $5
  • White cardstock
  • Ribbon
  • Die cuts or embellishments of your choice
  • Colored pencils (Prismacolor colors I used listed below)
    pc 1015 deco blue
    pc 903 true blue
    pc901 indigo blue
    pc 917 sunburst yellow
    pc 914 cream
    pc 943 burnt ocher
    pc 946 dark brown
    pc 911 olive green
    pc 908 dark green
    pc 912 apple green
    pc 923 scarlet lake
    pc 924 crimson red
  • Pencil sharpener
  • Pattern paper
  • A2 size card base in red

Feel free to use the paper and pencils you have on hand. Even Crayola. It is better to see if you enjoy using colored pencils before shelling out big bucks for a professional set. I love the burnishing technique (coloring firmly) but it might make people’s hands tired after a while. I want Stamp School to be about trying techniques and exploring media without busting the bank, and if you love the colored pencils, well, Christmas is right around the corner and there are many lovely brands to pick from! I hope you enjoyed this project and you give some of these techniques a try! Happy crafting!



11 Responses

  1. Love the state stamps. Very pretty card. Got my ScanNCut today but I have not felt good today so I haven’t played with it yet.


  2. It can be either bird. Both birds are round like that. I looked them up in the images of the internet.


  3. Love watching your coloring videos!


  4. Beautiful card Lindsay, thank you so much for the stamp school. I’m just starting out with cards and some of the sites list a big investment to make their cards. You make it easy to have beautiful results with out spending a lot of money.


  5. I really appreciate that you included an image of the final colored project while you were coloring but I thought it was a little big and made it difficult to see what you were doing.
    I love your videos and this one is no exception.


  6. As always, another great tutorial! I really want some Prismacolored pencils. Thanks for sharing your talents with us.


  7. The glue with the fine tipped applicator. Does it all come together, or can I buy the bottle and applicator separately? If so, where?
    Love everything you do.


  8. I saw your video about melting jewelry clear plastic beads and pergel (sp?) beads into flat round embellishments for card making and scrapbooking one day, but now I cannot find that video. I just bought those beads for that purpose. Could you please link me to your YouTube video??

    TIA, Judy

    Thefrugalcrafter’s Weblog wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ thefrugalcrafter posted: “Hi friends! Break out the colored pencils and get ready to feel like a kid again! I left this tutorial in real-time because it is geared to beginners. I think it is helpful to see how long it takes to build up layers, how to hold the pencils and ho”


  9. I’m trying to decide what colored pencils to purchase that are easy to work with and also blend well, but don’t break the bank. I know I want a decent variety maybe 36? What set of colored pencils do you recommend if you could only choose one? Really appreciate any help or insight:) Thanks!


    • well, the good news is that you have a lot to choose from. If you ask 5 different artists you will get 5 different answers too. Right now I am enjoying Coloursoft by derwent, you can use them on light or dark paper (they are opaque as opposed to Polychromos, LYra or Spectrum Noir), the leads resist breaking better than prismacolor and they do not have as much waxy buildup if you layer and color thickly. Jerry’s artarama has a 36 set for $41 and you can replace a pencil if you use it up or add colors individually if you feel like you need other colors. A cheaper bet 9and I have not tried the wax colored pencils but the watercolor ones were nice) is Fantasia, ACmoore has a 36 set for $16, might be worth a gamble, Prang is decent too for a cheap pencil and you can get those at a department store.


Tell me what YOU think!

