Stamp School: Bargello Backgrounds!

Hi friends! Today I have a popular quilting technique that is just as lovely on a card:


The stamps I am using in today’s tutorial are from our sponsor ArtNeko! Save 10% off your next order of any size or get free shipping on orders over $50 (whichever discount is greater!) just by mentioning thefrugalcrafter!  This technique is done by gluing, cutting and rearranging strips of paper. It’s a great way to use all of those scraps left around the paper trimmer OR to finally use that gorgeous striped paper you have been hoarding forever…or is that just me? Watch the video to see how it’s done!

Pattern Paper strips or a stripe design
Pearl paper (I got mine from The Paper Cut)
Stamp (ArtNeko)
Ink: Versafine Onyx Black
Black embossing powder
Color mediums: watercolor markers, pearlescent watercolors, alcohol markers (pick your fave or try them all!)

I hope you try this technique, it is really fun to see your pattern build up. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

8 Responses

  1. I really liked the bargello technique. I’ve don it a couple of times but I have a lot of strips right now so what a perfect technique to use them up.


  2. I have never seen this technique! How fun🙂

    I have the ProCision Rotary Bypass Trimmer by Fiskars. I bought it about a year ago? (Whenever our local Archivers went out of business and it was 40% or more off….) I really like it. No dull blades and it folds for storage. It cuts through pretty think stuff….. Not sure I could pay full retail for it. Amazon does have decent prices on them, however.


  3. Wow, I have never seen that technique before. I really like it. Thanks for sharing.


  4. What a nice idea! I have pearl paper I used for gift tags one Christmas and didn’t know what else to use it for. The bargello techique is good for using up patterns I don’t really like, they might turn out looking far better!

    I love it the way you can start out with leftovers and end up with something so pretty!


  5. wow I like that Bargello technique, Go try it yeah. Thanks


  6. Beautiful cards, Lindsay. I have a Fiskars self-sharpening guillotine cutter. I recycle box board a lot, which I chop up in my cutter. It stays sharp and can cut little scraps to a 1/2 inch wide. Perfect every time.🙂


  7. beautiful cards Lindsay.


  8. Add a silica gel pack to your embossing powders stored in plastic containers with small spoons. These dessicant packs absorb moisture and keep the powder particles from clumping together in high humidity conditions. I save these gel packs when they come with purchased products and re-purpose them in my EP storage containers.


Tell me what YOU think!

