Nature Inspired Place Cards for Thanksgiving!

Hi friends! Quick update on Rosie the hen, she is still improving and eating a bit more, she seems to be taking thick oatmeal well and she had some peas and pear today. I think she lost a bit of weight before we brought her in and I wish she would eat and drink more but she seems happy. She is wide awake and looks perky but she just hangs out perched on her box. Very un-chicken like.


On to the project! I want to create a simple, east to make place card to enhance a fall or Thanksgiving dinner table. I used some basic supplies and some natural elements to make this. Watch the video to learn how!




  1. Write guests name with an embossing pen or juicy marker on a die cut, sprinkle on embossing powder and melt with a heat tool.
  2. Attach die cut to tag and embellish with bakers twine, ribbon and buttons.
  3. Hot glue pine sprig and pine cone to gold doily and place tag between the tines of the pine cone.

That’s it! Easy and elegant and perfect for Thanksgiving. Thanks to Papermart for sponsoring this project, thank you for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


7 Responses

  1. Very pretty. So glad Rosie is doing better. You are going to have one spoiled chicken. Have a good weekend.


  2. Poor little Rosie! I’m glad that she is doing better, but it’s so sad when they can’t talk to you and tell you what’s wrong. It does sound like she is over the hump. I think maybe you need to make her one of those adorable place cards because she is NOT going to want to leave all the TLC she is getting now.


  3. Glad Rosie is better. Her sweetness makes me want to re-think the whole Thanksgiving turkey experience. Love this idea. Quick, easy, personal, and anything with twine and buttons is right up my alley (and of course, a glue gun is a bonus)! Thanks for the tutorial.


  4. I love any project that brings nature into the mix! Very pretty and easy place cards and I love that they are removable to use as bookmarks as I collect bookmarks. 😀
    Please hug Rosie for me. I woke up last night in the middle of the night and said a little prayer for her. Hope your house has a Happy Thanksgiving!


  5. I was just thinking I should make new place cards for Thanksgiving! Thanks for the inspiration. Only one problem….we got 3 inches of snow last night! I might have to go digging for pine cones. Hopefully the snow will melt.


  6. Oooh, so pretty. I’ll definitely be making these.

    Completely off topic……….Jerry’s Artarama currently has the tin box set of 72 Derwent Coloroft colored pencils on sale for less than $70.


Tell me what YOU think!

