Glitter and Stencils! You’ve Got Them so USE Them!

Hi friends! Today we are going to make this super sparkly glitter stenciled card!


It is super frugal too using supplies from out sponsor Papermart! Watch the video to see how.


Shipping tags
Double sided tape or adhesive sheet
Stencil (mine was from Stencil Girl)
Washi Tape
Organza Ribbon

1. Cover tag with double-sided tape.
2. Coat stencil with embossing ink or glycerin.
3. Remove liner from tape and place stencil ink side down on the adhesive.
4. Carefully add glitter filling in the stencil holes with the colors you want.
5. Press glitter in to the stencil and shake off the excess then wipe off the excess with a baby wipe.
6. Remove the stencil and cover the rest of the adhesive with clear glitter. Tap off excess and burnish glitter in.
7. Hear with a heat tool (optional) to be sure the glitter is secure.
8. Finish by adding a washi tape border and ribbon/tulle.

Just make sure (and I can’t stress this enough) that you coat your stencil with glycerin or embossing ink before you place it on the adhesive. Think of all the stencils you have and the colors of glitter out there, the possibilities are endless! I think I need to use this technique on a scrapbook page. What project would YOU use it on? Let me know in the comments below and while you are there please share this post with your crafty friends on Pinterest, Facebook and Twitter! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!


14 Responses

  1. Hi Lindsay! Is using Versamark ok instead of embossing ink? Thanks!


  2. Great idea!


  3. STUNNING!!!! Thanks for sharing!
    Paper Hugs,


  4. I’ve never been a great glitter fan although I did buy a whole lot of colours at a craft show once (couldn’t resist the temptation as they were so pretty!) but this is definitely a technique to try. I am impressed with how well the glitter stuck to that extra sticky tape. I assume you could use the regular crafting ds tape with the red backing? Great result, and some really pretty tags. I love that peacock feather!!!

    Thanks for sharing, Lindsay.



  5. I am not a glitter gal but I could really see myself making tags or atcs like you have demonstrated. thanks for sharing this idea – gabriele


  6. wow…i am not sure i get it how that stencil doesnt stick for good on to the score sheet.. my luck it would.. could you explain that another time.? in a video… works for me:) thanks and wow… i would like to catc on… sincerely


  7. Beautiful….a real eye catcher! Great job as usual.


  8. Hey Lindsey!! I LOVE this project!! I’m waiting for the double sided tape to come…can not wait to give this a try!! I ordered the tape because I had seen a couple you tubes where you use a stamp then the glitter then color with the alcohol markers!! So now I have two projects to try!!



  9. I am so going to try this! Thanks Lindsay! I would use this on cards, canvases, scrapbook layouts, frames. Anything I can use a stencil on! LOL


  10. Wow great technique. I am trying to get motivated with making wine tags to sell. This would be awesome.


  11. Absolutely gorgeous Lindsay! Thank you for sharing this🙂


  12. Lindsay — can we use clear glitter over the entire stencil design and then color it in with various colored Copics or other alcohol markers we have on hand avoiding having to add each glitter color by hand?


Tell me what YOU think!

