Stamp School 14: How to Make a Shaker Card {for Halloween!}

Hi Friends! The other day I shared a quick shaker card but tonight I am going to go a bit more in-depth for my stamp school friends!

skele2blog skele1

Sorry if I still sound a bit stuffy, I’m not back to 100% yet and it is getting on my nerves, I like being productive darn it LOL! It was nice to chill out and make a relaxed card. I hope you enjoy tonight’s mellow tutorial.


Cardstock (purple and white)
Stamps from the Halloween Collection from Stampendous!
Ink: Black, lavender, purple
craft knife
Acetate or clear packaging
Foam Tape
double-sided tape
Embellishments and glue if desired

Directions for shaker card:
1. Stamp frame image on purple cardstock, tear away frame and cut out window. Save this center for the inside.
2. Place the frame on a folded card and trace the window. Stamp skeleton inside window and color the background orange.
3. Attach the acetate clear sheet over the backside of the frame to cover the hole you cut. Go around the opening with foam tape and fill with glitter, beads and sequins.
4. remove the liner from the foam tape and center the folded card over the frame so that the skeleton will show through the window.
5. Embellish as desired.

Tip! The dollar stores can be a treasure trove for embellishments, look at Halloween decorations, jewelry and party favors and see if you can repurpose them into card embellishments! Also look at your orange, purple, green and black supplies to see what you already have!

What kinds of cards and projects would YOU like to see me do in stamp school? Christmas cards? Scrapbook layouts? Let me know in the comments! Til next time happy crafting!

7 Responses

  1. Cute video. I always enjoy your cardmaking. It’s been a while since I’ve made a shaker card. You have inspired me .


  2. It’s dos Equis and he TOTALLY creeps me out!!


  3. I like that. I have watched you make 2 or 3 shaker cards so I guess it’s my time to try one now. Thanks for your tutorial.


  4. Nice, spooky one. Never thought of adding punch cuts.

    I would like to see a tutorial about scrapbook layout for a change. That’s what I need to work on soon.


  5. Hi Lindsay, I’m not much into Halloween but I do enjoy watching the process on the shaker card. My reason for the comment though is…..please go ahead and get the ScanNCut.!!!! I purchased one a few months back and would love for you to do instructional videos using it. I watch others but you always make everything so much easier to understand. Tell your husband it’s an early Christmas present and remember you have been sick and it will make you feel better !!! lol.


  6. Drooling over the lovely stamps and glitter!! I sooo love em🙂


  7. how thick is the foam tape that you used…1/8″ or 1/16″ maybe? Thanks


Tell me what YOU think!

