A Plane Painting for a Good Cause!

Hi friends! I forget how much I enjoy painting in oils. Where watercolor is immediate with oils you can ponder, rework and get an image just as you like.

plaine2I know this is a departure from my normal subject matter but when Steve at Woodworking for Mere Mortals told me about his charity Makers Care to raise money for the Make a Wish foundation I wanted to help out. Since airfare is the largest expense in granting kids wishes he came up with the idea of making planes for charity. For every plane made he will donate $5 to Makers Care and 100% of the money raised goes directly to the Make a Wish foundation. Now, here is my plane painting video!


Supplies (from our Sponsor Jerry’s Artarama):

I hope that inspired you to make a plane too, you can make an airplane out of anything you like, you can sculpt, woodwork, knit, paint or use your medium of choice. We are all creators, do what inspires you! Then submit a photo or video of your creation to Makers Care and Woodworking for mere mortals will donate $5, you can make a tax-deductible donation too if you like, every bit helps, big or small. Every day I thank my lucky stars that my children are healthy, I can’t imaging the struggles kids with cancer face. I am glad to help make a wish come true for them. I can’t wait to see what you make, let me know if you submit a plane so I can check it out and don’t be shy all ages and all levels of skill are welcome!


Thanks so much for stopping by! If you liked this tutorial and would like more oil painting tutorials please let me know in the comments. Also if you could share this post on Pinterest, Facebook, twitter and any other social media (handy sharing buttons below) to help spread the word about Makers Care I would be so grateful. Til next time happy crafting!

20 Responses

  1. I seriously love your plane painting..


  2. Oh my gosh! It looks so much like metal! Excellent work Lindsey! I wish I had your talent, and you as a teacher when I was in grade/jr high school trying to paint instead of the teachers I had who only taught to those that had an innate talent for painting/drawing!

    Today. I think they were the ones who were inferior as they didn’t have the skills to teach those of us without an innate talent to paint to paint. In elementary school and jr High they told me to give it up, that I had no talent. I gave up trying to paint, but the desire to do never left me.

    Later in life I found a teacher like you who had the gift of seeing and teaching what a lot of us do not see. He was a wise and old painter, and sadly after 3 yrs with him he passed away. Yet in that short span of time he gave me the gifts, and tools to begin to create art on a canvas!

    3 yrs to a beginner is just an inch of time! I’m in it for a life time and am so thankful that I was born in the time of the Internet and have found you! I’m working more with watercolor paints. Not yet ready for oils or acrylics, but am ever so thankful to have you to teach and guide me through my continuing learning years of painting.

    I won’t be more than mediocre I’m aware of that, but I still crave the ability to lay down paint on canvas and have it look pretty close to what my mind’s eye sees! Why the teachers in a school that had an Art program had no time for that I can not fathom! I lost a lot of years of learning because of their message.😦

    Because of that I have always encouraged my kids to try, and have given them the tools, and lessons with pros that they needed/wanted.

    #1 Grandson is showing early signs of having an artistic bent. I’ve given him paints, pencils, crayons,paper. and time to play with them. We shall see where it goes!

    Sorry! I’m long winded and it’s TMI! Keep doing what you’re doing please! It’s reaching some of us!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your plane painting is amazing!!

    Thank you, Jeanne Lashmett, IIDA JML Interior Design

    314.435.4233 http://www.jmlid.com



  4. Do more of oil paintings. I enjoyed watching this one. Yes, I am planning on trying this painting and do one on my own.


  5. This painting is really amazing!

    I don’t think I ever saw you painting something like this before, and I didn’t expect it would turn out so realistic. You usually stick to flowers and landscapes so I never dreamed of seeing a painting of something technical like this. I am so sure I could stretch out my hand and feel that metal with my fingertips! I love this painting!

    What fascinates me is that at the beginning I couldn’t really see where you were heading to until all of a sudden it all just seemed to appear from one minute to the next. It’s like magic!


  6. fascinating how realistic this looks Lindsey I love everything you do god bless you for sharing with the lowly,hugs


  7. I have no interest in oil painting, but you turned me on to watercolor and I love it. This painting is the best I’ve seen from you, Lindsay, in any medium! It’s wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am in love with watercolor and have learned so much from you. But I gotta say Lindsay, this is AMAZING! Just so darn realistic! It makes me want to go out and pick up some oil paints…almost…
    But my challenge is watercolor and I must press on, hahaha.


  9. Amazing work, so real!


  10. Beautiful and ready to hop in for a flight…


  11. I was reading your posting and glancing at the “photo” of the plane and prop thinking…I can’t wait to see what she did with this subject! When I realized the “photo” WAS your painting I was pleasantly shocked by the lifelike image you painted! Wow, Lindsay, it is wonderful…I can’t say more than that!!! You are incredible!


  12. First, just in case you’re not aware of it, this video had an annoying buzz throughout. It did stop and start as you probably turned your mic off and on, but since I’ve never done a video I really have no idea! LOL!! I’ve never noticed that in any of your other videos, so thought you might want to know about it so it doesn’t happen again.

    It moved so fast that someone as inexperienced as me could never keep up, but WOW… great finished product! I wish I was so talented! 🙂 🙂


    • Huh. I did not hear that but my mic was acting funny. Thanks for letting me know so I can fix it:)


      • You’re welcome. I hope it wasn’t something expensive to fix or something expensive that had to be replaced. We all depend on so much electronic equipment these days. Hubby’s working on our entertainment “complex” (my word, LOL!) today. Our DVR was recording sound but no picture. Eeeek! He seems to have found the problem and thankfully it’s just a minor fix and no really big equipment failure. Whew! (to be read as a whistling exclamation or sound expressing relief.) 🙂 🙂


  13. That is beautiful, I never thought that a propeller would be paint worthy, but it is!


  14. You are an amazing artist! This painting looks like a photograph. I am so glad I found your website.


  15. OMG before I started to watch the video, I thought this was a video on how to paint a model airplane. But it’s just a painting WOW your talent is incredible!!


Tell me what YOU think!

