A Plane Painting for a Good Cause!

Hi friends! I forget how much I enjoy painting in oils. Where watercolor is immediate with oils you can ponder, rework and get an image just as you like.

plaine2I know this is a departure from my normal subject matter but when Steve at Woodworking for Mere Mortals told me about his charity Makers Care to raise money for the Make a Wish foundation I wanted to help out. Since airfare is the largest expense in granting kids wishes he came up with the idea of making planes for charity. For every plane made he will donate $5 to Makers Care and 100% of the money raised goes directly to the Make a Wish foundation. Now, here is my plane painting video!

Video:

Supplies (from our Sponsor Jerry’s Artarama):

I hope that inspired you to make a plane too, you can make an airplane out of anything you like, you can sculpt, woodwork, knit, paint or use your medium of choice. We are all creators, do what inspires you! Then submit a photo or video of your creation to Makers Care and Woodworking for mere mortals will donate $5, you can make a tax-deductible donation too if you like, every bit helps, big or small. Every day I thank my lucky stars that my children are healthy, I can’t imaging the struggles kids with cancer face. I am glad to help make a wish come true for them. I can’t wait to see what you make, let me know if you submit a plane so I can check it out and don’t be shy all ages and all levels of skill are welcome!

plane1

Thanks so much for stopping by! If you liked this tutorial and would like more oil painting tutorials please let me know in the comments. Also if you could share this post on Pinterest, Facebook, twitter and any other social media (handy sharing buttons below) to help spread the word about Makers Care I would be so grateful. Til next time happy crafting!