Make this Interactive “Cage” Card! (Use what you have!)

Hi Friends! I am still fighting this darn cold, the sinus pressure and headache is getting on my nerves, I did work in my studio a bit today but it is so hard to be inspired when you feel blah. I have been taking advantage of the fact I can’t get out of my own way to do a bit of binge watching on Netflix, I was thrilled to see that there were 2 seasons of Being Human that I had not seen. It is the US version and at first I was disappointed after seeing the UK version originally but now I am hooked, I mean with werewolves, vampires, ghosts and zombies what’s not to love? Well, enough of that nonsense, I do have a fun project for you and I bet you can make it with the supplies you already have!

cargecardthumb

I had seen cage card dies in a catalogue for $20 the other day and I thought there had to be a way to do this with regular nesting dies and after cutting many (many, many many) paper rings I realized a very easy way to do it. Watch the video to see how.

Video!

Other ways to do it!

  1. Use a circle cutter like a Creative Memories, Martha Stewart or even a Coluzzle (anyone still have those?) to cut the rings and tape and cut like I did. You can even cut concentric rings on an electronic die cutter but I would put the paper on the mat right side down so you can tape it before you remove the paper.
  2. Use a compass to draw the concentric rings and cut with an X-acto knife skipping the area that you would be taping so no tape is needed!

But wait! There’s more! You can use other shapes like ovals, squares and fancy shapes, see what you like best and have fun with it! Do you think you will try this? What shape would you do? Let me know in the comments below and if you liked this tutorial please share it on Pinterest, Facebook and Twitter (handy links below) so others can try it too! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

 

20 Responses

  1. Very neat. Would make a neat birthday card. Hope you feel better and have a good weekend.

    Like

  2. This is a such a great technique ! I really like it.

    Like

  3. Cool technique! TFS!

    Like

  4. I love this and am definitely going to give it a try!! I may wind up having to go back into my craft room tonight even though it is almost 11 pm because I am not sure I will be able to sleep if I don’t give it a try tonight! I am very intrigued by it!!! Will let you know how it comes out!
    Thanks for the inspiration and feel better soon!! I am sending you some virtual chicken noodle soup to help you out!!

    Like

  5. Your picture got me curious how you were going to make this. “Paper Engineering”. Thanks. Now I know ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Hiya
    Hope u r cold gets better soon. This card looks awesome.
    Bye
    Ari ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

  7. What fun this is, Lindsay! You always make me smile with your remarks, too – the fancy schmancy bone folder was a good one – I often say, what’s wrong with a good old fingernail lol lol!! (I’ll never look at my bone folder in the same light again…) Love how this card pulls out, and it’s bound to make any recipient smile! It’s just so fun.

    Shoshi

    Like

  8. I was thinking how easy these were to make if you have your old coluzzle’s, which I do. Thanks for all you do.

    Like

  9. I love, love Being Human also… Both versions are terrific!

    Like

  10. you are so very clever! thanks. Missing your info posts with the girls.

    Like

  11. What a great idea!!! I cannot wait to try this.
    This card put a smile on my face.

    Like

  12. Hi there, Just a thought for your cold; if you don’t have high blood pressure and if your cold is a virus consider a warm cup of water with about a teaspoon’ish of baking soda. ย The baking soda is very alkaline and viruses can’t survive in an alkaline environment. ย I usually also add lemon to help the taste a bit, otherwise it’s super salty. ย You likely are already attacking it with some other remedy, but I thought I’d share just in case you’re interested. ย  Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  13. Wonderful card. Where is the best place to buy those circle dies, please. CAn’t wait to get some.

    Like

    • the ones I used are Lifestyle crafts, it is the largest set with sizes so close together I have seen. Consumer crafts has good prices, they will have the Darice brabd circles but maybe the Lifestyle ones too. The darice ones are a good value, I have several sets by them and you can’t beat their prices;)

      Like

  14. Hi Lindsay ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sorry to hear you still have your cold. To get rid of a cold a Doctor recommended this, and a friend tried it as well, and it worked, at night when you go to bed put Vicks Vaporub on your feet, put on socks and go to bed. My friend sad her cold was gone by the next day. Hope this info helps.
    Your card is great. Thanks for sharing.
    Sending you GET WELL SOON WISHES!!!

    Like

  15. How great of you to take the time to figure this out. I don’t think I could do that.

    Like

  16. So neat!!! Thank you for helping us save and use what we have!

    Like

  17. I saw on YouTube that you are planning a liv Ask a Crafter on Monday but I couldn’t find a time.

    Like

  18. Julie Flanagan just demoed how to create this card in Make The Cut

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

