Start The School Year Off Right!

Hi Friends! All over Facebook I am seeing first day of school photos from my friends down south. Luckily up in Maine we do not go back to school until September but I am all ready with this cute homework supply caddy:


I wanted to make a portable box of supplies that was not too big, yet would have anything my kids needed for homework. These sturdy parts bin boxes from Papermart are just the ticket. My kids can take it to their favorite homework spot then slide it on a shelf when not in use. Watch the video to see how I did it.


Bin box
Washi Tape
Scrapbook paper (I used designs by Crate Paper)
1″ punch

1. Cut paper to fit the sides and ends of the box and adhere.
2. Assemble the box. Fold one of the dividers to make a divided compartment and leave 2 compartments open.
3. Add washi tape to the edges of the box.
4. Fill with back to school supplies and homework essentials!

Items I put in the box:
rubber bands
paper clips
glue and glue sticks
safety scissors
paper re-enforces (paper donuts LOL!)
white vinyl erasers\pencil sharpener

Make sure this box is accessible on a shelf so the kids can get to it whenever they need. This easy idea will save you and your kids headaches and stress when it comes to homework. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Sponsored by Papermart.


7 Responses

  1. Great way to organize and stay that way.


  2. Hi Lindsay🙂
    Your portable box of supplies is a terrific idea. If I wanted to add a handle to the box for easy carrying, how would I do it? Thanks!
    Best wishes.


  3. This is absolutely darling and very useful. I do not have kids but when it comes to school supplies I absolutely love to shop for them. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.


  4. nice box:)


  5. My kids are grown and I don’t need homework caddys anymore but I watch all your tutorials. I just enjoy watching you create, and the way you visit and share with us as if we are right there in the room with you.


  6. Excellent idea! I won’t be using it for back to school but I do believe I may have found a solution to my marker storage issue! Yay! I do have to ask, did you make your pretty, pretty bracelet? And if so is there a video for it? Thanks so much for sharing your ideas and your time !


Tell me what YOU think!

