A Hand Painted Gift Box (no painting experience required!)

Hi friends! I have had these medium sized kraft gable boxes from Papermart in my stash for a couple of months and I was wondering what to do with them. With all of the summer birthdays happening I decided to get a gift box ready. I love the look of bright acrylic paints on kraft!


This is a super quick project. I also think these would be fun to decorate like little houses since they are kinda shaped like them. Best of all you can reuse the packaging or use it as storage because they are fairly sturdy. Watch the video to see how I made it, I hope this tutorial gives you some ideas for painting your packaging!


Medium Kraft Gable box
Acrylic paint and brushes
Mod Podge (or white glue)
Organza Ribbon

1. Apply paint to box.
2. Cut out “lollipop flowers” from paper and glue to box.
3. Paint leaves and stems with green, white and yellow paint. Outline with black. Let dry.
4. Assemble the box and tie on bow.

Thanks to Papermart for sponsoring this project, please check out their wonderful selection of kraft packaging (it takes paint wonderfully!) I am so glad you spent some time with me today, til next time happy crafting!

4 Responses

  1. This is so cool thank you for the video:)


  2. That’s the way to make gifts unique! Thanks for the inspiration.


  3. Oh I loveeee your blog! I have SOO many questions! Thank you so very kindly for sharing everything you have


  4. Love that look. Waiting for money to order some craft boxes. I know the children will love making these, Thanks:)


Tell me what YOU think!

