Hey Bloggers & YouTubers, this Art Marketing Videos is for YOU!

Hi friends! It’s Art Marketing Monday, I think that’s going to be a thing (at least until I run out of ideas) and today I want to talk to the bloggers and vloggers out there who enrich our lives with their inspiring content. I know many of you have blogs and YouTube channels and I know how hard it is to get your channel large enough to be hired or sponsored by companies or even get on design teams working for product. You likely have a passionate audience who often buys things you use and recommend, so why not get some of that money that you have earned? I am going to talk about affiliates today. Anyone with a blog or YouTube channel can sign up to be in an affiliate program. You put a link to the product you used and if someone clicks through and buys it (or anything else on that website) you get a small % of the sale. It will not cost your viewer extra either. It is a way your viewers can support you while purchasing stuff they want. I’ll explain more in today’s video!


Unfortunately there some states where you can not be an affiliate with the major companies, Maine is one of them so no Amazon, Blick or Joann affiliations for me which is a shame because I send so many people over there anyway for the deals but I have found smaller companies who are more than happy to have me like Hallmark Scrapbook and honestly, I’d rather promote an independant family run business who stocks all the new products at the lowest prices. See what I did there? ;) I bet most of the bloggers you follow also take part in affiliate programs and I know of a few who make a near full-time income at it. They don’t live in Maine. Many other bloggers use it as a way to offset costs of keeping their website up and running. However you choose to approach it remember to be honest about your affiliations, it will only help you in the long run. I really hope this helps some smaller crafty content creators out there bring in some cash so they can continue doing what they love and (selfishly) keep inspiring the rest of us! The rising tide lifts ALL boats. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

6 Responses

  1. A big Thumbs Up Lindsay!!


  2. Very good information Lindsay you are so thoughtful of others!!! Thank you very much for sharing!!! Hugs Liz x


  3. Thank you so much for your honesty. Keep up the great job🙂


  4. Thanks for the info! I never really thought about it before, but I do know that a couple of things I have shown or talked about on my blog have garnered sales for the producers, which I feel good about. It would be nice to feel good and get some cash, too! One company I do business with gives me a nice credit if I send new people there way – so if you need business cards and want to use Moo.com, let me know and I will give you the code. 🙂


  5. Wow! I love how open and honest you are. you are not being pushy about buying some product down the line from you or hyping some BS…your really just giving out some Real tips! I want to thank you for being so real! Such a difference in other so called ‘tip’ video’s I’ve wasted time on lately…..thank you….certainly will look at your blog posts …they are worth the time.🙂


  6. Hi Lindsay, I appreciate your courage and good intentions for sharing this information. I have been creating handmade cards and putting those on my blog, while I am sadly diverted away from my career path. I always felt guilty about spending and getting nothing in return and hesitated in creativity too. I had heard about commissions but did not know how and where to start. Now thanks to you, I know about affiliate programs and feel hopeful about possibility of at-least some financial return, and enjoy crafting. Thanks! Best wishes!


Tell me what YOU think!

