Art Marketing: How to Close the Sale

Hi friends! After I did my last craft fair recap I had several emails from viewers saying that they have customers who seem really interested in their work at their craft fair booths but they leave without making a purchase. This is something I also heard from other vendors at fairs I have been too. I think a lot of crafters and artists have a hard time closing the sale. In today’s video I will talk about making sales and sensing when a customer is ready to buy and also overcoming the invisible considerations that a buyer has when deciding whether or not to make a purchase.


Overcoming objections: These are the invisible walls between you an a customer. These are ways to dissolve the walls:

  • Price everything fairly and accurately. Do not discount your wares but you can offer an incentive to purchase like a free pair of earrings with a necklace, or buy three get one free.
  • Establish yourself as a trusted authority in your field/art medium.
  • When a customer seems ready to buy ask for the sale “Would you like to take this home today?” of if they are shopping for a gift “What is the price range you are looking for?”
  • Make it easy to pay by offering to take credit cards or know where an ATM is if you don’t.

Of course this advice is for selling in person. If you prefer to sell online check out our sponsor, they have a free ETSY webinar coming up this Tuesday called Your First 100 Sales. Renae Christine will teach you EVERYTHING you need to know to start a successful Etsy business. Make sure you sign up because space is limited. I never miss her webinars because she crams so much useful info in them. I use her advice to improve my craft fair and craft booth sales but if you are selling online her tips are even more valuable. I hope you check her out. Thanks so much for stopping by today and til next time happy crafting!

One Response

  1. Thank you Lindsay, for a great talk! I so love listening to you, especially when you share such great insights!


Tell me what YOU think!

