I can’t believe I never blogged this!

Hi Friends! Happy Valentine’s Day! How ironic is it that I never blogged my tips for bloggers video I shot in October? Very.

I hope that helped those of you who are thinking about venturing into the world of blogging. It is a great way to improve your writing and photography skills while keeping a record of your work or personal life. Blogs can be private or public. I have made a wonderful community of friends by having a blog and I am so grateful for that. Thanks for being a part of it! Til next time happy crafting!

18 Responses

  1. Hi Lindsay, it was good to see this video again (I watched it on YouTube when you first put it on), I’ve found your tips to be really helpful so thank you. If you have time I’d love it if you’d have a quick look at my blog like you did for many of your viewers on YouTube (perfectly fine if you don’t though.) to give me a few pointers on how to get a few more viewers. I know my photos let me down somewhat but there’s not a lot I can do about them until I’ve saved up for a new camera, but I’d appreciate some feedback on the rest of my blog. Thanks again, Sarah Wilks http://www.smwcraftynook.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    • nice blog Sarah! I love the funny cards:) I notice that some of your pics are really sharp and some are blurry, I think your camera is fine but if you had a tripod you could get better shots. I made a white box from foamcore and put 2 strong lights above it and I take my project photos there. The bright lights help the photos come out sharp even without a tripod (even with my cheap camera) I have a post about that here: https://thefrugalcrafter.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/woyww-how-to-photograph-your-artwork/ but other than that it looks good:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • sorry following as cindy z stewart 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you so much for taking a look I really appreciate it 🙂 I try to take the photos under my daylight lamp at the moment as it’s the brightest light in our home – not sure what the laws are like in the USA but it became illegal to sell non energy efficient light bulbs in the UK a few years ago and as much as I’m for saving the planet I’ve got to say my home’s been a lot dimmer since the law change (at least I can’t see the dust now lol). I shall certainly give your white box a try until I can get a new camera though. I need to buy another one because the batteries stuck on with washi tape after the clip snapped off. Thanks again for the great advice. Crafty hugs Sarah x

        Like

    • Sarah, really cute cards! and baby :)! i added you to my g+ and am now following you! good luck to you :)!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Cindy, I really appreciate you having a look, I couldn’t find your blog (if you have one) but I have just added you to my YouTube subscriptions and g+. Thank you so much for becoming my first follower! 🙂 x

        Like

        • Sarah, i have a couple of ‘blogs’ lol, tho i dont do anything with them…i really dont even remember making them but when i start getting serious about them, i will post info! you are welcome for the following and i appreciate you following me as well. right now all i do is share publicly other peoples creations! one day, my own, 😀 good luck to ya! 🙂

          Like

  2. Hi Lindsay 🙂
    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!
    Thank you for sharing your many talents with me and everyone.
    Take care.

    Like

  3. shows what publishers know!! self publish! i would buy it 🙂

    Like

  4. I only have 27 followers on my blog (www.craftyviolet.blogspot.com) even though I post cards, scrapbook pages, paintings, quilting and other crafts with instructions on how I complete them; however, according to my stats I get anywhere from 900 to 1200 hits each month. Not sure why more people don’t click to follow. Any advice on that one?

    Like

    • I think it has a lot to do with the platform you are on, blogger is not as SEO as WordPress meaning that when people search a topic wordpress blogs are ranked higher for some reason. Also the following process is better with wordpress, people can sigh up for emails if they so not use the reader, I find it hard to get the posts of blogger blogs I follow. You could try switching to wordpress but keep the blogger too and see if one grows quicker. Make sure you tag/label your posts so people can find you when they search and remind people to “pin” because pinterest is a huge referrer to blogs.

      Like

  5. Thx Lindsay. This is on my goal list.

    Like

  6. This question is sort of off topic but I wasn’t sure where to ask it. I’m interested in making prints of some of my paintings to sell. Some would be on canvas board and others on watercolor paper. Where do you go to get a print that would be of sellable quality? And do you have any idea of costs involved?
    As far as original paintings go, how do you price something like an acrylic painting on an 8×10 canvas board?
    Thanks for any advice you can give! 🙂

    Like

  7. Thanks for all the advice. I’m one of THOSE who follow but rarely comment…..grin. I do enjoy your videos so I just wanted to say Thank YOU. I am on Blogger, but have learned the ins and outs over the years, also have Bloglovin. But now I’m wondering about Word Press, so might do as you suggested and do both. I know there are MANY, MANY who will not leave a comment, or follow a blog if they have to contend with word verification, or their have their settings on no anonymous comments, or filling in all the details. Your blog fills all the info in when you click leave a comment, and that is GREAT, but there are still hundreds that don’t, and people just won’t leave a comment or become followers. It’s a tough world out there.

    FREQUENCY! Like you said is a big key. I also found that joining in with groups like WOYWW is also a great way to get people to you blog, and have gained many followers and friends doing that.

    Well that’s my 2 cents……LOL

    Like

  8. Thanks for the insight. I just started my blog on WordPress. I watch your videos on YouTube but hadn’t gotten around to this one yet.

    Like

  9. You said you were Lucky!!…..not Lucky!!! Amazing and talented and just such a fun person to view on any of your blogs!!! Making mud pies??? Yeah!! I’d even watch you do that!!!! 🙂

    Like

  10. I think a self published book of all your “recipes” for crafting supplies would really sell. I’d love to have it. I have bits of them scribbled here and there for future reference. Please consider putting them all together for sale to your followers! This is one of my favorite aspects of your blog and YouTube Channel. Great info. You can’t get anywhere else. Love hearing from you and all your ideas. Blessings

    Like

  11. Really appreciate your tutorials/advice. Please publish your recipes I find them so useful it would be great to have them all in one place, please.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

