Ask a Crafter S3 E17

Hi friends! I’m not going to complain about the cold today but it was -3 at dog walking time and 50 in my studio today. Much to the disappointment of Hazel she did not get walked but a few steps outside and she is holding her paws in the air because it is too darn cold and I don’t think she would appreciate wearing booties if the hunting vest I had her wear this fall was any indication. I’m hoping for a heatwave (that would be 15-20) tomorrow so I can take her for her usual walk. Oh well, it really makes you appreciate summer! Only 6 more months😀 I am hoping that I can film with Kathy and Lorraine next week, I am sure you miss them as much as I do. I don’t know what is keeping me so busy that we can’t get together (it isn’t the housework!) but something is using up my time, basketball season maybe? Poor time management? Distraction of cool CHA 2015 videos…ding ding ding! Nobody’s perfect:) And on that note, here is this weeks Ask a Crafter:

Thanks so much for stopping by! Leave your questions below and they may be on a future Ask a Crafter! (the jar is getting lower!) Have a great night and til next time happy crafting!

17 Responses

  1. I love all your information and I miss the giggles of Kathy and Lorraine, will be good to see them back.


  2. Lindsey, I really appreciate you answering all our questions. I wanted to ask you about encaustic paintings. Have you tried it? Any tips or advice before I dip into to it?


  3. Love all the information you have about making helpful products. I make my own envelopes and had a hard time figuring out how to seal them. I tried your glue and vinegar recipe and “WOW” , I love it. My husband is happy too because now he doesn’t have to ask me to seal his envelopes for cards he sends to his sisters and friends. Thank you very much for all your great tips.


  4. I know you have told us, but couldn’t find the video with the answer! Where did you find your little fine tip glue applicator bottles? Thanks so much for all you share. It keeps me inspired. Here is my little life lesson (which you knowingly or unknowingly affirm): It doesn’t matter if the end product is not matching the picture you had in your head, especially if you enjoyed the process. Somehow I had it in my head for most of my life that art is the finished product, not the act of doing! (I do appreciate craftmanship–it’s just not my natural gifting!!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi I’m asking again, I bought a few rubber stamps and I’m having trouble putting water color paint on to transfer. Can you give me some hints???

    Sent from my iPad



    • I have never tried pure watercolor on rubber stamps, but I have had good luck with the markers. My favorite is Tim Holtz Distress markers. Local King Stamps Tutorial #1 on You Tube explains the process very well. Lindsay also has a tutorial on You Tube, but I’m not sure of the name. I hope this helps, and good luck. You will have fun.


  6. A really easy way to peel rubber stamps from wooden blocks (storage is so-ooo much easier when you treat them as acrylic stamps) freeze the wood stamps for at least 30 minutes and there will be no trouble peeling off the rubber stamp portion. Much easier and less messier than heating with heat gun or microwave. No glue residue!!


  7. Hi Lindsay, a question: Is the Creative Pallet the same as the Gelli plate? Tx


  8. Thank you so much Lindsey for all your advice and answering all our questions. Yesterday I finally found liquid glycerin🙂 so happy, now I can clean my versamark ink pad and do so much more with it . You have been giving so much tips with using glycerine!


  9. Lindsay, i need this answer as quickly as possible, please and thank you! any idea how to lighten a very dark acrylic yarn?? say you have a very dark green and you want like a sage green acrylic yarn…any idea how to achieve that? thanks so much!🙂


  10. Hi Linsay! It’s me again, asking another question, lol. My question is What is Yupo paper? I was given this HUGE roll of paper, it’s shinny on one side almost like a glossy paper and the other side is like regular paper. It’s like a very thin glossy paper and I have Nooo idea what it is and what to do with it. Maybe you’ll know what it is and what I can use it for. It’s a roll like your brown packing paper. Thank you in advance for all you do:)


  11. Hi Lindsey,
    New fan and follower here, so I apologize in advance if this has been answered a bazillion times. I’m having trouble figuring out how to store alcohol vs dye based markers. I see many people insist they be stored horizontally, but I’m just not sure. Is there a right or wrong way for the longevity of your markers? Thank You so much!


  12. Very helpful. Looking forward to your tutorial on mediums. There are so many out there and it can get confusing. Thanks.


Tell me what YOU think!

