A Double the Fun Thanksgiving Craft! {a boredom buster!}

Hi friends! First up I want to share some exciting news that I hinted at yesterday: I am doing monthly craft segments for my local ABC & FOX affiliates and you can see my latest segment here! The story was really quick so next time I am going to make sure I have a simpler concept to make sure everyone can follow along at home. I decided to expand the craft from the news story and share the project with you here today!


My other exciting news was that the washi tape I have been waiting for from Papermart has finally arrived. It has been selling out so fast but I finally got some and almost all they carry! You get 10 yards (30 feet) for $1.34 a roll. They also have solid color multi packs, I got those too but have not used them yet. I wanted to use them in a fun project and what is more fun that making a craft and decorating a Thanksgiving table for kids?

I don’t know about you but I want to sit at the kids’ table! Here are the supplies I used:

1. Cover a table with brown kraft paper and add doilies as place mats.
2. Fold a piece of cardstock both ways. Unfold.
2. Cut a slit on the horizontal crease on the right side up to the center crease. Fold the top right corner down about 1″ from the center crease. Fold the bottom right corner in to the center crease. Fold the bottom left panel behind the right and fold the remaining triangle over.
3. Fold the top left panel over the top right and fold the bottom panel up. Secure the edges with washi tape.


To finish place shipping tags and paper in the back pocket and crayons, markers or pens in the front. Add baker’s twine to a shipping tag and place that in the back pocket. Thanks to Papermart for being our sponsor today, be sure to check out the products I used and stock up on your holiday wrapping, ribbons and packaging while you are there! Happy thanksgiving and happy crafting!

14 Responses

  1. I will be using this is holiday season, thanksgiving & xmas. This is the best, easiest and most fun idea I have seen in a very long time. YOu have just saved me hours of making goodie boxes. so thank you.


  2. Thanks for sharing your news segment. When you said you were on your local news i was hoping you’d share more info so those of us not in Maine could see it🙂 So cool! I love the little crafty pocket idea. Theyd make cute Christmas party favors for school. Thanks and congratulations!!


  3. This is so adorable! My Godkids are going to love it!!


  4. This is really adorable! I’m going to use this as the Christmas card for my Girl Scout Juniors troop and will put a pack of short color pencils or mini sparkle jelly pens inside that they can use to decorate the tag books that I made for them.


  5. Love this idea!! Thanks for another great tut!


  6. I was excited to see you on TV the other night – good for you! Work it, baby, work it!


  7. This is such a cute idea. This would make a wonderful classroom gift, too. Thank you so much for posting this project.


  8. I forgot to ask before do you know were I can buy Cardstock with Moons and Stars design? I go to Michaels all the time but I can’t find anything with Moons and Stars on it. Thanks so much for your time.


  9. Hi Lindsay!
    Such a cute, clever and easy way to set up the kiddos at the kids’ table! I also agree us adults could use boredom buster packets in our glovebox in the car or in a tote bag. My hubby enjoys doing newspaper crosswords, sudokus and jumbles which could easily fit into a boredom packet. Thank you for the idea and Happy Turkey Day!


  10. What a good idea! I wish they had this sort of thing when I was a kid. Looking forward to trying it out. It could even be fun at a women’s retreat.


  11. I’m not sure you’ll even see this, but I was thinking of making something similar to sell at a craft fair but wasn’t sure if that was okay?


Tell me what YOU think!

