How to Make Day of the Dead Sugar Skulls {join me at the library!}

Hi Friends! This weekend marks the Mexican Day of the Dead. Every year at the library my friend, and librarian, Audrey does a wonderful program to remember and pay respect to our loved ones who have passed. If you are unfamiliar with the holiday check out the history of Day of the Dead on They also have recipes for making royal icing and the sugar mixture as well as the mold that Audrey and I used to make these. I have helped Audrey control the mayhem on decorating night with the kids at the library but this year I asked if I could try the project from soup to nuts.  She showed me how to mix the sugar, mold the skulls and put them together. I think the most important tip was that you know the royal icing is ready when your mixer starts to smell like the motor is burning out LOL! So, without further ado I would like to introduce you my friend Audrey and show you how to make these sugar skulls yourself! Please note that the intro was filmed AFTER the class right before the library closed so if we look a little frazzled/tired, that is why:)

And here are some pics of the skulls that were left to dry at the library:

I know traditions from other cultures can seem odd to us but I think this is such a positive way to remember our loved ones who have passed, especially for children.  Thanks so much for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. this is awesome. I always wondered what they used to make them and now I know. thanks


  2. Wow this is awesome! It looks like you had a lot of fun making them:)


  3. Never heard of these before but am intrigued. What a wonderful way for kids to remember. Also, having trouble receiving daily videos. Can you help?


Tell me what YOU think!

