A Prairie Painting Tutorial with a FREE Pattern!

Hi Folks! Today I have a viewer request! A prairie painting for Sarah Hoffman.

finalprairieYou can find the reference photo I used by Rachelle Eversole at Paint My Photo. Since I did not go over drawing the scene in the video I made a pattern for you, you can print it for free here.  I hope you enjoy this tutorial and try it too, it was fun to paint!

Supplies: (Feel free to substitute for what you have on hand.)

140# 9″x12″ Strathmore 400 series watercolor block

3/4″  Angular brush, 1/4″ flat, #4 round

Cotman colors: English Red, Sap Green, Raw Sienna, Payne’s Grey, Ultramarine Blue

Other: Credit card scraper, paper towel, 2 buckets of water.

 

Paint along and have fun! If you would like more painting tutorials click here. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

23 Responses

  1. Thanks for the pattern, Lindsay. I’m going to give it a try…now I’m off to watch the video. x

    Like

  2. loved this painting! tfs 🙂

    Like

    • one of my fav paintings of all times in Vincent van Gogh, Starry Night….i would love to see you paint that one! 🙂 thanks!

      Like

  3. You are awesome

    Like

  4. Hi Lindsay. I somehow linked with the frugalcrafter website and truly enjoy listening to questions that have been asked by us viewers. Thanks so much for providing answers. Now I have a question for you. I made the Geli plate several weeks ago. The project was a success but I noticed today, Oct. 7th, spores and mold was growing on the geli plate in different areas. I followed directions carefully and covered the plate after usage. Can you tell me if this is normal or did I do something wrong? Sugar was used in the recipe and sugar is a wonderful medium to grow bacteria. Please text me back. By the way, I did toss the geli plate. Thanks, Bee

    Sent from my iPad

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • hmm, the sugar was recommend from a school teacher who kept her plate in the cupboard. You could have remelted and skimmed off the mold and re set it. It seems that it lasts best if it is used frequently.

      Like

  5. LOVED this =) Since I’m born & raised here in the Midwest it’s hard for me to think of someone who hasnt seen things like this – but I’ve never been more east than Indiana so I’m sure that would shock you 😀 That metal thing looks to me to be a possibility of a couple different things, but I’d guess – a corrugated metal corral for animals -or- corrugated metal water trough (possibly for water pumped up with the windmill?).

    Like

  6. Two buckets of water? Thank you for the laugh.

    Like

  7. I like your paintings and I especially like the way you paint
    the sky.

    Like

  8. Great painting! I live in the Oklahoma panhandle and it looks exactly like your painting. You did it justice. It, actually, brings back old memories. There was an old windmill out in the country close to the house I grew up in and it was the place for teens to go make out. Lol Not me, of course! Thank you for painting and for the free pattern!

    Like

  9. That crazy metal thing is a water tank or trough that holds the water the windmill pumps. Great painting. I love watching your painting tutorials. I check your videos every night for a new painting tutorial.

    Like

  10. It’s a beautiful painting, thank you for sharing it with us:)

    Like

  11. I’m hesitant to try watercolors, but your tutorial makes me want to give it a shot. Thank you for making this!

    Like

  12. I like your painting so much better than the photograph that inspired you. I guess it is that artistic license to bring your personality into your artwork. I love your videos because you are always so upbeat and it comes out in your art. Thanks for all you do for us wanna be artists.

    Like

  13. Another gorgeous painting!! I know you love watercolor. Do you ever paint with oils? If yes, any chance for a tutorial? Thanks for sharing. Love ya’

    Like


  14. i am starting to pin ur watercolors here…hope it helps to get you more well known!!

    Like

  15. Hi Lindsay 🙂
    Great painting. Thank you for the pattern!
    Take care.

    Like

  16. Do you prepare your water color paper by stretching it in any particular way?

    Like

    • I stretch thin paper, like 90lb or if I am working with a largeg 140# sheet. I soak the paper and tape it to a masonite board with gummed paper tape.

      Like

  17. Lindsay, I love your stormy sky painting that I watched on YouTube. I took the time to paint it. I didn’t have all the colors that you used; but, I did make some substitutions and I think it turned out okay even though it’s not quite like yours.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

