Let’s Paint Swans! Beginner Watercolor Tutorial in 4 Colors

Hi Friends! I just got back from my morning walk and saw about 30 Canadian geese hanging out near a small pond. I wonder if they are heading south? It was neat to see them up close. I wish I had my camera with me. Oh well. Today we are going to paint a swan scene. I found a wonderful website with public domain photos taken by the talented Jon Sullivan, it is called Public Domain Photo and I used a portion of this photo to paint this painting.

finishedswans

You might want to print out the photo as you follow along with the video. The colors I am using are: ultramarine blue, burnt sienna, yellow ocher and sap green. You can mix everything you need from only those colors. I tried out a cat’s tongue brush in the tutorial too but you can just use rounds. I am not sure I really like this brush, it feels to small. It is not a Neptune as I thought but it is from Princeton. Also not e that I sound different in this video, I did my first voice over on this, what do you think?

I think I prefer narrating most of my videos live but for some of the longer more in depth projects I will use a voice over so I can speed parts up and so I can concentrate on my art rather than trying to talk, think AND paint. Don’t worry, I’ll save the voice overs for the long in depth projects. It will also give me a chance to create more intermediate and advanced tutorials. I ordered a better mic too, the one I used in today’s video was a $5 headset mic from Big Lots that I have had for years LOL! I hope you enjoyed the video, you can let me know what you think in the comments and as always happy crafting!

22 Responses

  1. I enjoyed the voice over and would appreciate more intermediate and advanced watercolor demos. Thanks for sharing your talents and knowledge!

    Like

  2. Loved this Lindsey. longer the better for me I can watch you for hours and hours, you give me such a lift….keep them coming, the swans are lovely I will try this today…

    Like

  3. I agree with MaryEdna. I will appreciate more long tutorials. It is such a joy!! Thank you so much Lindsay!!! And your voice sound really fine. I already painted the orchids, the robin, the frozend pond and the hummingbird. Your tutorials are wonderful. Thanks for sharing your knowledge!!

    Like

  4. Just love it…thank you for sharing….anxious to start…you are an inspiration everyday.

    Like

  5. Hi Lindsay 🙂
    All of your videos are excellent and I get so much great information and learning from them. I love this painting and your many other crafts that you do.
    Whether you do “live” or “voice over” is OK by me. I am so happy when I receive your daily videos and watch you paint or craft and receive your contagious inspirations to “JUST DO IT”.
    Thank you so much for sharing your talents!!

    Like

  6. Loved this one

    Like

  7. Love the videos and you sound more serious with the voice over. And for Bob Ross I love to watch him on the educational channel. Like you he makes painting look so easy. Have a good weekend.

    Like

  8. I would like to see this one done with watercolor pencils. Loved it but would like to try a different medium.

    Like

  9. I loved your swans Lindsey, you really inspire me to keep painting . You have a great personality.

    Like

  10. This was a very good tutorial!! I learn so much from you every time I watch (and hear) you do a painting or a craft. Mellow or excited, I really like all your personas!! Even when you are serious, there is a hint of humor in your voice. Love it! It’s as though I can hear you smile! Makes me happy! 😉

    Like

  11. Great tutorial. .voice over is awesome. ..tfs

    Like

  12. Great lesson. Thanks so much.

    Like

  13. The voice over was great. I have a real beginner question. You spoke about composition and I have heard that term used for art. What exactly does it mean?
    Thanks for all of the great tutorials you do. They are helpful, fun to watch and I love to listen to your delightful chatter.
    Hugs,
    Teresa

    Like

  14. Hi Lindsey – the voice over works for me. Another good tutorial. Love the swans. Another place for photos to paint is http://paintmyphoto.ning.com Don’t know if any viewers have been to this site. The photo content is meant for folks to use for reference to create derivative artwork without copyright worries.

    Like

  15. I like the voice over. The audio quality was very good !

    Like

  16. I really liked the voice over… I think you are more organized in your thoughts that way. I personally prefer the old videos with the comments edited on. They used to make me literally LOL!!! But in the effort of making the videos more professional, I think the voice overs are the way to go. Then you can concentrate on painting, and probably complete the project in a shorter period of time… or at least speed parts up or edit them out to make the tutorial more concise. All that said, I don’t care if they’re long, so if all the editing becomes tiresome just keep on doing them the previous way. We’re just thankful you do them at all! Oh, and please don’t think you have to apologize for talking too fast or too slow, or if you think you are hoarse. I promise, no one really notices… until you mention it 😉

    Like

  17. Great video! I’m not an artist, I just don’t seem to “have it”, but I watch your painting videos anyway and I’m just in awe of you. Your voice over was good, I agree with Patricia, you do sound more serious than when you’re live. It doesn’t really matter how you do the audio, it’s all good! I know from reading comments that people (and myself of course) love to listen to you no matter how you speak. Anyway! Keep up the good work and please don’t stop making videos cause that would just be a crying shame! Thanks so much for all your efforts!

    Like

  18. Love this painting….you always inspired me to paint watercolor thou i have not started any but i bought some materials already and i think i will try this swan ….love to listen to your tutorial and you are so talented…thank you for sharing your work and talent.
    Vi Soriano

    Like

  19. That painting is simply lovely.

    Like

  20. I love it!! I so look forward to your watercolor tutorials. Please….more is better!!!! Thank you and keep them coming!!!!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

