What? A free Saturday? Can it be True? (and a pencil/marker demo!)

Hi Friends! Do you hear that? Silence. Everyone is still asleep, I have a cup of chicory coffee in my mug and I am looking forward to a day with nothing planned. It is starting to feel like fall too, it is a bright crisp day full of potential, my kind of Saturday! A couple of days ago the folks at Tombow sent me a set of Irojiten colored pencils to try out. I had been admiring them from afar since they came out because of their beautiful book like packaging. In today’s video I am going to show you how they work with a little help from my favorite Tombow product, the Dual Brush Pen. The stamp I used is from Lost Coast Designs.

Can you believe my markers are 20 years old? I love a good long-lasting marker!

Here is what you need to know about the Tombow Irojiten pencils:

  • They are a hard pencil that can be sharpened to a resilient point.
  • Slow wearing.
  • They resist smudging.
  • They have less wax so less “bloom” or waxy build up.
  • Good for detail work or sharpening up soft edges.
  • The full range contains 90 colors including 10 fluorescent colors that glow under black light.
  • According to the package they are highly lighfast (resists fading.)
  • The lead is glued in the barrel to further protect from breaking when sharpened.

These will take a bit of getting used to if you are used to soft waxy pencils. I recommended you try them on their own, and then use them with the other pencils you have for more versatility. They are highly pigmented so they work well with solvent. The lead is hard but there is a lot of color/pigment in there! These will not replace your softer pencils but enhance them allowing you to get more detail with in a painting.

I hope you found this demo helpful, if you have any questions let me know in the comments. The Irojiten pencils and Dual Brush markers can be found on the Tombow website or your favorite art supply retailer!

11 Responses

  1. I was looking at Tombow watercolor markers on the Joann’s online site. And I got a few gift certificates for my birthday to Joann’s. So I think I will order them. Thanks again for another great tutorial


  2. Lindsay – Super! I was wondering how to do a work around background, and did some freehand ‘stuff’ that worked out quite nicely. But the watercolor wash is a smashing idea. And, what would an art boxes for my two grandchildren under 12 have in them to inspire them?? Enjoy your Saturday! and Sunday for that matter. . . pqh


  3. Great demonstration, Lindsay. Both products look like they are worth investing in. I agree that the packaging is quite lovely and that the pencils would be good to pair with softer ones. Thanks for this.🙂


  4. I really like the blending possibilities you use, Lindsay. It actually appears to be a natural watercolor wash when you are finished. Each time I think you are finished with the technique, you add a touch here and there creating more depth and perspective. Such lovely results!


  5. Lindsay you are my go to for all information on everything. I love that you tell it in a way that I know what is what before I buy. You are so valuable to all. Hugs, Your Florida Friend, Della


  6. Hi Lindsay, I thought I’d check these pencils out on ebay…one seller is offering the whole set…for almost 850 pounds!! Guess they won’t be gracing my shelf any time soon lol. I loved what you did with them though, but pricewise I think I’ll be buying Reeves or Derwent🙂


  7. ha. i particularly like the background there, especially the middle right side, where the green merged into the yellow but retained this subtle green edge. love that watercolor effect!
    i am finding my peerless watercolors do that while my other ones don’t… i wonder why… maybe the quality of the pigment? sometimes you don’t want it to happen, of course…lol but i find that most japanese watercolors have that detail and my eyes dance when they see it.. hehehe
    i don’t have those pencils – i wonder how they would work with gamsol , have you tried it? the thing is, being able to blend with watercolors and markers is so much easier that i pretty much abandoned my wax pencils…
    maybe i should revisit them. but oh, that box of Gansai Tambi is staring at me… hehehe
    thank you for the video. you’re enabling my hoarder tendencies😉


    • Yes the Irojiten work well with gamsol because they have a lot of pigment. the marker preform like peeless because they are both more like dyes than paint:)


  8. As usual, I really enjoyed your video. I think I want to take a watercolor class or something using markers & pencils. I am mesmerized just watching & listening to you. Your videos are so inspiring and informative. Thank you & keep ’emblems coming.


  9. Thanks for the demo. I have tombow markers and love them too. I have a concern a bout how,to,store them. I store all my markers horizontal, laying down. My tombows came with a stand, and they are upright. So far I haven’t noticed any drying out. What do you think? Will they dry out standing up. Thanks for all your tips, really enjoy them


Tell me what YOU think!

