A Fathers Day Gift Kids Can Make Today!

Hi Friends! Today I have a craft for kids to make for their Dads or Grandfathers using items you have around the house or in the recycling bin and basic craft supplies:

DCF 1.0

You will need:

  • Cardboard (mine is 9″x12″)
  • Colored paper (Blue, white and green, this can be construction paper, cardstock or typing paper)
  • Twine or string
  • Googlie eye
  • Markers or watercolor crayons (or something similar)
  • Metallic eyeshadow
  • a spray bottle of water
  • A hole punch and scissors
  • Optional: Patterned scrapbook paper to use as a mat, I used a 8.5″x11″ necktie pattern I’ve had in my stash forever.


  1. Distress the cardboard panel by pulling off bits of paper then you can add color, if desired, to the ridges with markers or crayons.
  2. Glue scrapbook paper on cardboard.
  3. Glue a smaller rectangle of blue on top and add a strip of green as shown. Accent with markers or crayons.
  4. Cut a fish shape (I used this free SVG to die cut one) from white paper and color with markers, spray with water to blend (or you can use spray ink) *I dry embossed my fish for texture so do that too if you like before coloring.
  5. While the fish paper is wet dust it with metallic eye shadow.
  6. Adhere fish and draw a hook and line on the background. Glue on googlie eye.
  7. Punch holes and add twine for hanging.
  8. Write or Type “Fishing you a happy father’s day” on a strip of paper and adhere.

Pretty neat for a last-minute gift huh? It would go great with a fishing licence and a new box of tackle I think! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

6 Responses

  1. Another wonderful creation, Lindsay. Have been looking at the differences between the ecips and the Silhouette(sp) today! If anyone has any input on which is better, feel free to let give me a shout!


    • Hi Lisa…just my 2 cents..but I would go with the silhouette cameo very compatible and user friendly does need a computer… that would have been my 1st choice…BUT have you seen the Brother scan and cut??? doesn’t need computer and the price is higher (it was on HSN) but does a great job!!
      but between the Eclips and the Silhouette…no doubt I would buy the Silhouette Cameo…


      • Thanks for the input, Josie. I haven’t seen the brother, but I don’t mind having to use the computer with it.


  2. Cute card…even if an adult makes it!!! TFS Lindsay!
    Hope you and yours have a Happy Father’s Day!


  3. This is cute! What a great idea.


  4. cute cute card!!!! and I keep forgetting to mention I LUV your new youtube opening!!! sure will miss the three of you fun gals…and have a fabulous summer


Tell me what YOU think!

