Dance Mixed Media Fun Art Journal Page!

Howdy friends! Just a quick reminder that if you haven’t signed up to win stamps on last Sunday’s post now is your last chance because I will be drawing a name tomorrow! Today I have an art journal page tutorial, it was my quickest page ever I think. I started it with a sketch using Inktense blocks but I was not happy with it so I gessoed over and started again, sometimes it goes like that but i like the end result:

DCF 1.0

Want to see how I made it? Watch the video and find out!

It is funny, after I posted this video on YouTube several people asked for a tutorial on drawing the ballerina, I was shocked because that was the part I was trying to disguise LOL! I will have a tutorial on drawing a (much nicer) ballerina in a few days.

Here is a brief summery of how I made the page: First I drew the ballerina and swiped gesso over the page with a palette knife to tone down the colors. I tore patterned scrapbook paper and glued it to the page with hot glue. I stamped music noted using the “stamp in the hand” technique and I also stamped on a dance diagram and a shoe. I hot glued organza ribbon on the ballet dancers skirt and a twisted piece of fabric strip for a border. I use permanent markers to write the quote “if you stumble make it part of the dance” and I added some color to the edges of the page with Inktense Blocks.

Thanks to Oriental Trading Company for the Art Journal I have been using for all of the Mixed Media Fun tutorials and thank you for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

21 Responses

  1. Where is the show in Springfield?


  2. Grow in Pots can’t loose🙂


  3. I loved this video. The page is so cute, never thought about hot glue. Growing in pots is a perfect way to start gardening.


  4. Big E in Springfield. See you there. Love dance page!


  5. yes vid tute on ballerina please sooo cute!! I also cant remember the name of the commenter that used this quote but I love it!! happy Memorial day to all and THANKS TO ALL THE VETERANS FOR THEIR SERVICE❤🙂


  6. Where did you find the intense blocks on sale? Thank you for your daily postings.


  7. Just wanted to say thanks for all the art journal pages you have been making!


  8. You are the best, most fun, & totally talented Blogger & YouTuber out there. I wonder if you can tell me how to DIY “distress paint”. I’ve done the stains you shared a DIY recipe for a while back and love saving ooddles of cash on that, but not sure how to mimic that paint look. I believe it starts with acrylics and water but then what??


  9. Hi Lindsay! Happy Memorial Day! My husband and I were planning to head to our place in Bridgton, Me. this weekend, but our daughter, son in law, grandson decided to visit so we squashed that plan and have been having a great time with our adult children and grandson at our home on Cape Cod. Anyway, I had to tell you, I LOVE this video and I can’t wait for the ballerina drawing tutorial you mentioned doing “in a few days”. Our youngest daughter (21) is a professional ballerina/dancer having trained most of her life with the Boston Ballet and then went on to the Orlando Ballet Co. I have been trying to capture her essence for years and years. Sometime it worked and other times….. not so much. I look forward to that tutorial.


    • Bridgeton is so beautiful, there is a little park we stop at every year when we travel to New Hampshire called Shorey Park, so lovely. I have some some sketches of the dancers, I am getting ready for the tutorial, no worries, I have not forgot;)


      • OMG! Shorey Park is right on Main minutes from us. They have a great Arts & Crafts show every summer sponsored by Gallery 302 (also on Main St.) Shorey Park in on Highland Lake. Our place is up the lake on the left. You should bring your cards, watercolors, etc. to the show!!! Here is the link. Let me know if you can make it with your wares and I will help set you up with a place to stay if you need. Oh yea, it called Art in The Park. Its so much fun. they specialize in artist from Maine. I am sure you would get a following!


  10. Love this page! Have you done the ballerina tutorial yet?


  11. Love this one! I may try it on a canvas for my grand daughters bedroom. Thank you so much for making such wonderful tutorials and sharing your talent!


Tell me what YOU think!

