An art journal flip through, a new tripod and other bargains….

Good evening friends! Another crazy school vacation day! I love having fun things planned but whoa, this week is running me ragged! In between dropping off and picking up I stopped into my local Goodwill. I am a contradiction, I have had the urge to purge clutter from my house so usually my trips are dropping off but today I went inside…and you know how good I am resisting a bargain…not! Well, they had a couple of tripods for sale. Both were missing the “hot foot” adapter but that was OK because what I was looking for was one with a screw on the bottom of the center pole to attach a camera to. The price was $5 but I noticed that there was a broken part on it and with the missing adapter I asked if they could do better on the price and I got it for $2! Check it out:

So, really, I could have done this with my other tripod but this one is sturdier so hopefully it was not $2 wasted…anyway I would not have thought of this without the new adapter. I found other goodies that I didn’t need but bought anyway (I clearly need my head examined) I got a nice baseball mitt for $4, a Cricut cartridge for $2, an LL Bean backpack for $3 and brand package new hefty freezer containers for $3 that will be handy with the garden I plan on growing this summer and the bounty of veggies I plan to freeze…or freezer jam. I do make good jam.  At least I didn’t buy the 3 pack of full size wooden hockey sticks that were bargain price of $3, I’m crazy but not that crazy! 😀  Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

15 Responses

  1. Does this mean you won’t have to draw upside down anymore? Sounds like you had a terrific day shopping for bargains. Thanks for the flip through.

    Like

  2. Got to love a good bargain! I myself went to Marden’s yesterday and got some stencils for 3 for $1 and some stamps as well. What I’d like to know is if you use an ink jet printer for printing out a picture of something you want to make into a glass pendant, what can I use to put over the picture so the ink doesn’t run. Some people suggested Microglaze, but then I heard someone say that that has a wax in it which repels the gloss or something, and to use Glamour Seal. Any thoughts?

    Like

  3. Loved looking at the journal again! 🙂 You must be ecstatic that you don’t have to do anything upside down any more! 🙂 Hugs

    Like

  4. Looks like your new set-up is awesome. I kinda enjoyed watching you draw upside down cause I can’t even draw right side up. We will miss watching your face while you talk though as you are very expressive and fun to watch.

    Like

  5. Yay, no more drawing upside down! Very cool.

    Like

  6. Oh ! I love a bargain too Lindsay…the other day I found a whole set of nestabilities, brand new in pack for $1.95 at the opshop!!

    Like

  7. Journal is looking great!! Love the quotes u find! I have to get back to using more again!
    Lorraine🌄

    Like

  8. It’s encouraging to know that I’m not the only one who sometimes buys things just because it is bargain….lol.

    Like

  9. I suspected we were kindred spirits…..now it’s confirmed. I love Goodwill, get rid, get some fun new for less, get cheap clothes so you have a bigger craft supply budget and create jobs for clients working there to develop job skills. It’s a win-win all-around! I also love the quote. My watercolor painting is pretty marginal as a beginner….and I DON’T CARE! I am having fun being creative and if I get one flower out of five that I really like…that’s good enough!!

    Like

  10. It fits…..The Frugal Crafter/The Bargain Hunter!!!! They go together like peanut butter and jelly! Good for you……And! If the bargain does not pan out, you can pass it on to someone else or donate it back to Goodwill. Definitely a WIN-WIN Lindsay!!!! Please once in a while draw upside down….it is soooooo impressive as I cannot draw either way?..LOL!
    Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  11. PS. I know Mike Dywan of Cheery Lynn Designs sent you the new plates for your old Big Shot and you said it works like new…..so when it too needs replacing, check out his new CROSSOVER die cutting machine to be released in May!!! I was really excited about it after watching his video about it and can’t wait to get one. Finally, a heavy duty machine with solid rollers! Woo Hoo!!!!!
    Jan

    Like

  12. Can’t resist a bargain either. Wonder how many cricut cartriges they had before you got there. I have a bunch i want to get rid of. Don’t use the Cricut much anymore.

    Like

  13. Hey there Lindsay! I absolutely love your videos! Every single time I watch them I learn something since I am a new crafter, painter, scrapbooking, etc. And I realized that I look forward to watching your video tutorials every evening. You always make me smile! Love and hugs from Connecticut. PS…my husband and I have friends in Maine that we have been visiting for 30 years so it’s a joy for me to listen to that lovely Maine accent!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

