Ask a Crafter 30! More snow? What!?!

Hello friends! I rushing to post this video because it is so windy here I am afraid that we might lose power for the evening. The school sent the kids home early in anticipation of the storm, we are only supposed to get 2-4″ of snow but the wind is awful! So without further ado here is week 30 of Ask a Crafter:

It was nice to have Kathy back this week for the show. I am so ready for Spring, I sure hope the ice melts soon so we can get some walking in, the weather has to warm up sometime right?…right? That all for me today, if you have any questions for next weeks show you can leave them in the comments! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

32 Responses

  1. Lindsey, I hope I am sending this to the right place. Didn’t you do a video about toilet paper in embossing folders in the Cuttlebug recently? I teach a craft group and wanted to show this, and I can’t find anything anywhere. Did I dream it? Thanks,

    Sybil There are three stages of life: youth, maturity,and “My, you’re looking good”Dwight D, Eisenhower

    Date: Wed, 26 Mar 2014 20:23:43 +0000 To: sybilmccullers@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay,
    All I can say is….I am so ready for winter to be over. I live both on Cape Cod (where I am right now) and Maine. The Cape had a BLIZZARD all day today. THANK GOODNESS we still have power (so I could binge on “ask a crafte”r) even though the winds are hurricane strength. I would have gone nuts without you all day today! I discovered something called altered paper using a product called Citra Solv and National Geographic magazine pages. Check out Cathy Taylor artist. Thanks for your peppyness and great videos!

    Like

  3. Lindsay got 50 and sunny in Dickson,TN today was cold this morning. We had fluffy snow yesterday that melted off faster than it fell. I guess we will have to do a spring dance or something. I don’t know like you tired of cold. Oh love your braided pigtails.

    Like

  4. HI LIndsay,

    I ordered the 10 pack pan pastels and 3 of them arrived today shattered. It will be a hassle to return so I was wondering if there was a way to “reattach” (smooth them) bring the shattered pieces together again? I hope so. thanks.
    Carolyn

    Like

    • Carolyn, who did you buy them from? Contact the store and let them know, they should replace them, if not contact PanPastel: http://www.panpastel.com/ directly and see if they can help you. Take a good photo of the shattered pastels and include that in your emails. After you get your replacement you can try fixing the broken pastels as they probably will not want them returned. It happens sometimes, don’t sweat it but they should replace it for you:)

      Like

      • Thanks. I got them through Amazon from a third party. I called Amazon and they are refunding my money and I’m ordering again. When i get the new ones I will swap out the broken ones and return the rest. I was very disappointed in the packaging. The bubble pillows (12 of them)were all deflated! Thanks for your response.

        Like

  5. I’ve tried to find out where you live but alas, no success. I live on the Eastern Shore of MD and every time you mention snow coming, it’s coming here, too. We got 4″ last night, very wet and heavy stuff, the kind that causes power outages and broken tree limbs, etc. We lost land line phone service but not power. At least not yet. The wind has been relentless this winter along with lots of snow. Maybe we need to do a spring dance to get some nice weather.
    How much snow did you get last night?

    Like

  6. Oh, I forgot to mention that I am a newbie to your site and I love it!

    Like

  7. Great video ladies.
    Question:
    Can you please explain the difference in Hot Press and Cold Press paper, and in what instances do you use Hot Press and in what instance would you use the Cold Press?

    Im missing something here in the understanding of what to use for what. Thank you.

    Like

  8. Hi Girls, I have some ink for refilling ink jet printer cartridges. I was wondering if you have any suggestions for using it for other crafting,card making etc. I gave up doing the refill thing but don’t want to waste it either. Thanks Barb

    Like

  9. Hello Lindsey. I am wondering if you know where I can purchase some rubber molds. The kind used for making mints for weddings and such. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Carrie

    Like

  10. We are only having rain and high winds right now in Salem, Oregon….temps in the 50’s. Last week was simply gorgeous…didn’t last – hoping your snow and ice melt soon so you can do that walking!!!
    Did not see a link to post for your wonderful Ask A Crafter, so posting here!
    Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  11. I will scooter along with you guys (walking limited to <100'). But have a wonderful new scooter and am dying to get out and about with it, Love your videos.

    Like

  12. A good use for the anti-slip mats for quilters… I use it under my foot pedal so I am not chasing it on my slippery floor tiles. Yes, you need to buy it as a quilter.

    Like

  13. Hi Lindsay,
    Please clarify this recipe: on your video you crossed out the line that reads “1 cup of alcohol mixed with 1/2 c glycerin”. I am confused!
    Thanks!

    Here is the permanent gelatin plate recipe, remember if you damage the plate you can nuke it on high in the microwave for a minute and reset it!

    7 packets of gelatin (6Tablespoons)

    mix into:

    1 cup of alcohol mixed with 1/2 cup glycerin (room temperature)

    1.5 cups glycerin

    then add:

    1.5 cups boiling water and pour it into a shallow pan to set.

    Like

    • I crossed out the line because I changed the recipe. Do not use the crossed out line, use the other ingredients.

      Like

  14. I also use the shelf liner cut in small squares to open jar lids, cut some up and share with friends. Hope you didn’t get too much snow! ~Diane

    Like

  15. Hey Lindsay!

    Thank you for your inspiring work, videos and crafts. Love the up beat approach to everything you do.
    Somewhere on one of your past videos you briefly showed a bracelet you had made on a loom (the small round one) and mentioned you might do a tutorial on it. I have not been able to find anything any where about it. I can’t even tell you how far back this was (trying to read, watch them all). The bracelet was made of yellow or gold thread or floss and may have had beads on it.
    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Linda Hawn

    Like

  16. Good afternoon Ms. Lindsay from western Pa.
    Several days ago on Facebook, I asked you about the ink-refresher spray with the glycerin and water, and it seemed to work l, however I am unable to find a re-inker for the Whispers ink pads by Sugarloaf.
    I know that Darice purchased them and I contacted Darice about getting re-inker but they don’t carry them any more. I am looking for an alternative to the set that would be be relatively easy to carry to a create-a card-crops. And because I want to use the ink for card crops, (that are only an hour and half long) pigments won’t work well for the time period.
    What can you recommend that would be budget-friendly dye pad ink set?
    Granted, I purchase d the set on Ebay and spoke to the seller and she gave me a partial refund, but I’m still out the ink pads.

    Like

    • Keep the inkpads and buy dye based reinkers from Memento or stampin up or your favorite brand, that is what I do. I love the whispers pads, please keep them and reink them! Just get colors as close as you can get (or ones you like better!) then write the inkcolor on the side of the pad with a sharpie. You will be happy with this solution:)

      Like

  17. Hi Lindsay, I have some old water based markers. I am wanting alcohol markers for a long time. My budget won’t let me buy them for some time. I was wanting to know if I add some alcohol to these older pens, will this work?? Thanks so much I enjoy your videos!!!
    Stephanie

    Like

  18. Hi Lindsay! Thank you so much for answering my question about making my images available as digital stamps. I have Inkscape and Gimp (I’m a master a neither) but I will definitely give it a go in inkscape. Hey and I’m all for being a healthier crafter 🙂 Thanks again!

    Carol

    Like

  19. Hi Lindsay, You mentioned in your Ask a Crafter that many people responded to ideas for Gelli Plate Tools but I cannot find that location on your blog. Is it possible (PLEASE) to send me a link to where they ideas are located. Many Thanks. Addicted to your blog/website.

    Like

  20. Hi Lindsay goddess of crafting and frugalness, can you help me, I am about to start putting together my Xmas gifts, I have small cotton draw string bags which I want to stamp an image on then colour with inktense mediums, these will be filled with dried lavender. can you please advise me on the best ink to stamp with and whether painting the inktense using aloe Vera gel is a good way to prevent running, and as the pouches are for people with pain so will need to be occasionally washed, will this be an issue if I use the inktense or do they hold fast after heat setting?
    Any advise you can give me as always will be great fully received.

    With best wishes
    Lindz

    Like

  21. Hi Lindsay! Can 91% alcohol and/or 100% acetone be used in lieu of denatured alcohol for thinning/refreshing alcohol ink pads and pens?

    Like

  22. Can you demonstrate the Twinkle H2O product a little more? Which colors are your favorite? Where did you purchase yours? Are there other products similar to this that you use too?

    Like

    • I will be using them more! The colors you pick are up to your preference. I like the bold jewel tones but the pastels are pretty too. You should make sure you get a pot of Oyster because you can mix it with the brights for a more pastel look or underpaint it somewhere you want a lot of sparkle! You can even mix it with regular watercolors and inks.

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

