Beaded Baubles!

Happy Sunday Friends! Just a gentle reminder to those who live in the US that we have returned to standard time and you should have moved your clocks ahead last night. I like the longer days, I have been waking up early lately on my own so I hope it makes the transition easier. That said I was at a crop last night until 11:30 so I am feeling a bit groggy today. I was supposed to scrapbook but I didn’t feel like it so I grabbed some beads instead.

DCF 1.0

I had made the above necklace last weekend from a kit by The Beadery that I found at Mardens for $3. I was not in love with the colors but I had always wanted to learn how to bead around a stone and I have to say the instructions were fantastic! I did not follow the pattern to the letter because I did not want the necklace to have a clasp and I did not like some embellishing on it but that is why it is great to make your own, you can have it your way! The kit has a date of 2007 and the item # is 5768 if anyone wants to try and find it. I got the hang of it very quickly and decided to try the technique with some flat backed glass marbles and small beads from my stash:

DCF 1.0

Once I had the basic idea I found I could substitute beads and change the pattern and basically make it up as I went along.

DCF 1.0 DCF 1.0

On the green bead I started with fewer beads so I could cover more of the back. Since I had a pattern that repeated 5 times I got a star look to it.

DCF 1.0

This was just the type of project I needed last night. Fun, relaxing and easy. Plus I know if there were other beaders there I could ask advice since I have little experience with seed beads other than collecting them and occasionally sprinkling them in wet glue on an art project.😀 Getting out to create with the gals was what I needed but ironically I almost didn’t go, I was looking for an excuse to veg out at home but I had told my friend Kathy I would go so I did and I even accomplished something, made some new friends ad ended the night feeling tired but inspired. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

10 Responses

  1. Very pretty beaded baubles!


  2. Wish we had a Mardens here!!! Lovely beading. I made a brooch like that a few years ago as a gift…no pattern though. I just made it up as I went along after reading about how to get started in a magazine.

    I know what you mean about the time change – throws me for a loop for a few days too. Groggy like crazy this morning.


  3. What a great idea for those of us allergic to metals, perfect necklace! Sure this would sell well at your craft fairs, I am always looking for something pretty like this without a metal clasp. Glad you had so much fun making it too, it looks gorgeous! ~Diane


  4. That is gorgeous Lindsay.


  5. Nice! Makes me want to add beading to my “to learn” list. I related to your comment, as I too currently just use seed beads in wet glue.😉


  6. Can you please do a video on your version? I have always wanted to know how to make them and I know you can make it easy to understand. Love you and your tutorials. Thanks.


    • I will try, they take a long time, maybe I can get quicker at it so it is a more reasonable time for a video (of coarse the thing that takes the most time is threading the darn needle LOL!)


  7. Very, very pretty!! Is Mardens a store?


  8. LOVE this. Very pretty!!!❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com


Tell me what YOU think!

