Let the Good Times Roll!

Howdy friends! We had a snow-day today, it was a lazy day, the kids played and I finished yet another hat (I managed to knit everyone in my house a hat during basketball season and I decided I deserved one too:) it is a moss green beauty, I’ll share it once I decide weather to put a flower on it or not, I have a C4b that should be a C4f so I’ll have to decide if that weird wiggle of a cable bothers me or not (because it didn’t bother me enough to rip it out when I first noticed it LOL!) Speaking of hats, tonight I am sharing a fun project you can make with your kids if you are snowed in the weekend, a festive Mardi Gras Hat! Fat Tuesday is only 2 1/2 weeks away and these jester hats are easy and inexpensive using supplies from Papermart:

If Mardi Gras is not your thing you can easily adapt this idea for a birthday party or another occasion, what fun! Here are the supplies I used:

Gold Doilies

Corrugated Paper


Decorative Grass Spray

I also used hot glue but you can use a stapler or tacky glue if working with children.

It looks like we are in for another 6″-12″ of snow tomorrow so we might have several festive hats in out future, thank goodness I get my supplies in bulk from Papermart! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

5 Responses

  1. Lindsay,

    Stay safe! Having just lived through this storm, I feel your pain. I haven’t been out of the house since Monday! I hope tomorrow it will be possible! You are all in my prayers.



  2. Cute hat. Seeing you in the Mardi Gras hat made me smile..reminds me of a jesters hat.

    Hats are fun–I love the way Brits wear those paper hats at Christmas–the ones made out of tissue, cut into shapes like crowns, etc. We wear them now too, because they are jolly and festive and our men especially look funny in them. We also make or buy Christmas crackers–the jokes in them are a hoot. All stuff any crafter can easily make too. (AND I like the way Brits say “Happy Christmas” instead of Merry Christmas.)


  3. Ha ha ha ha it is sooo fun and I´m sure the kids will just love such a project, that´s for sure. Thanks sooo much for sharing this fun idea here with us.


  4. Papermart sure is inexpensive. No kids here to entertains but in comes some more snow. Just what we needed. Time to craft.


  5. I’m a Louisiana girl and I’m loving the hat!!!!! Thanks for sharing!


Tell me what YOU think!

