And now for something completey different…

Howdy friends, just a reminder if you haven’t entered into the Year of the Horse stamp set giveaway yet be sure you do on last Friday’s post because I will draw a winner tomorrow! Now let’s stain some wood! Here is a fun technique I discovered (OK , who knows, someone else might have thought of it already LOL!) that I call resist staining!

The embossing powder method works best on smooth wood, rough wood likes to catch all of the granules making it less defined. If you are using rough wood like a plywood that cannot be sanded smooth you can stipple on wood glue, let it dry and stain/wipe like i did in the video. I hope you try this technique sometime! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

14 Responses

  1. wow! This is awesome. I have a wooden crate that needs finishing and this is just what I’ve been looking for. Something different and unique.


  2. Great video. Super idea and a pretty and exciting result. Thank you for the inspiration.
    Hugs from SPAIN


  3. This is awesome!!! I do lots of signs with wood for one of my etsy shops, and I can’t wait to give this a try!!


  4. This is really neat Lindsay! I’m going to have to share this with my sister. I think that she would totally enjoy doing something like this. Thanks🙂


  5. WOUW this really looks awesome, and I can think of several things, it would be just great for too. I actually just got an awesome idea, as my granddaughter is making some small wood houses for our christmasvillage, and this would be a great way to decorate those, I think. I´m definitely going to give it a try and see, if I can maybe get a stencil, that looks like briggs?? Hmmm Thanks sooo much for the great idea.


  6. Oh my gosh.. You know why I love you( lol)
    your a a perfect frugal crafter and chemist — amazing artist
    and beautiful charming person –
    all in one…




  7. This was interesting. I am intrigued by the stencil you made. I have a Big Shot die cutter and I haven’t the first clue how to make a stencil with a pattern found online. Can you help? Or do a tutorial? Thanks!


    • I wouldn’t use the big shot for that. I used my electronic die cutter and a free font to cut mine. If I were you I’d type out what you want for a stencil and print it on cardstock then cut it with a craft knife:) the font I used is Stardos Stencil


  8. Very clever! There is a gift shop in my area where they sell wood decorative box signs that are painted black with with various funny/silly thoughts painted on them in white. I ogle them every time I go in there because they are so fun. You could use your idea to create something like that for home decor using text and/or decorative stencils.


  9. Really liked your video on the stencil. Especially the tip on glycerin with the embossing powder


  10. I love that technique! Never thought of doing that.


  11. Lindsay,

    I am an Australian and really love your videos and your ability to find cheaper alternatives to the normally expensive craft supplies. One question about this video though, is that I haven’t heard of Vegetable Glycerine before. Could this be used instead of ‘stamp n bond’ as well?


Tell me what YOU think!

