So tell me what you REALLY think…

LOL! I have to poke fun at myself a bit tonight. I was so excited, Kathy and I had a heck of an idea, you see she has a laptop with a webcam and I have been trying to think up a way to streamline the one task that takes up the most time in my week, the Ask a Crafter video. This weeks episode was an experiment (so thank your lucky stars it was a short (er) video!) It was so easy, we went to youtube and clicked the record from webcam button, did the show, pressed stop and as if by magic it was live on youtube. Oh hurrah! No 2 hours of tying up my computer rendering and 12 hours of uploading the video hoping nobody accidentally messes with the computer and closes the window (kids wanting to do their homework, geesh!) and hoping the internet gods smile upon me and I have a decent connection speed. This was so easy. But unfortunately you hated it. The convenience comes at a price, it uploaded at 1/12th of the time so it can be expected that the video quality will suffer, not as many frames per second, but many people tell me they just listen to the Ask a Crafter episodes while they do other stuff (I really recommend that this week BTW) but a couple people complained about the audio as well. Hmmm, what to do? So, If I haven’t talked you out of watching or listing to this weeks episode then here it is:

As always there are wonderful tips being shared in the comments section on the Youtube watch page if you want to check it out. Β At least I can say that I tried. πŸ™‚ That’s it for me tonight, thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

26 Responses

  1. If I can’t see then I’ll listen. I love your vids and humor!!!!
    Diana

    Like

  2. I too am usually doing something else while listening to ask a crafter and then look when I know you are physically showing something. The way I see it is if it gives you more time, then maybe there will be more videos!

    Like

  3. As much as I loved the videos, I stopped watching when they become long………..I’ve tried watching them in sections, but never seemed to get back to finish them.

    Like

  4. When you are doing a service for us like this, I think you should do whatever is best for you. When you are just talking – imparting all your knowledge – then this format works fine. I understand why some may not like the quality of picture, but the sound is just fine. Maybe some are being too picky, but maybe you will never please those guys. I know the quality of your tutorials are great.
    I thank you for all you do for us, Lindsay. Hugs Julie

    Like

  5. Don’t worry about the quality Lindsay. It’s more important that you and Kathy don’t succumb to hypothermia trying to film in the basement. We don’t want you to freeze your hands off! πŸ˜€ Do what works for the two of you.

    Hugs,
    Snoopy πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Oh dear.., if it does save you a lot of time I think this quality is just fine. It is fully understandable if you want to save time on these videos. We just have to appreciate that you spend time providing this excellent service for us. Thank you for all you share.
    Hugs from SPAIN

    Like

  7. I love the studio as a backdrop. You seem more comfortable there. That said, I would watch you if you filmed from your front porch. Do what works for you. It is too cold for you to work there or film there right now.l
    We will be thankful for anything you decide on.

    Like

  8. This worked great!! and really from reading a few post your not going to satisfy anyone completely so just keep doing what is good for you…there are many that will watch the video completely thru…I think they are great and informative!!!!!

    Like

  9. I found the information worth so much that the quality took a distant second place. Thanks for being there and being just you. I love your honesty.

    Like

  10. The audio was fine–it wasn’t always in sync with your lips but that was not a big deal to me–btw–I watched the whole video, and it was much worse the first couple of minutes…but not long after it improved vastly. I wonder if some who disliked it strongly quit watching too soon. It does improve.

    Considering the many hours it takes you to do the video with a camcorder vs a web cam and the cold temperature you must endure I really don’t mind the web cam for Ask A Crafter. If you were demonstrating a technique it might matter.

    Also, your personality came through on the web cam–the same wonderful Lindsey who inspires us to create and be frugal.

    Like

  11. I say what everyone else said above. I listened and it was fine! When I watched,your voices didn’t match up but who cares? YOu are doing this for us for FREE…..free People! Give Lindsay a break! I would watch you if you filmed it from the rooftop or your bathroom! Don’t quit! We love you no matter what!

    Like

  12. What ever works for you . Love all the information you give us. I work on things while I listen and when you show something I look up…if it is too quick I can always rewind and watch it again. You are doing a service and I think whatever works for you works for me too.
    God bless you with some warm air. It is cold here( wind chills below zero) and I know it is colder in Maine.

    Like

  13. I had a problem with the sound, Lindsay, but it may well be my laptop, so I’m going to run it again with earphones plugged in. In a couple of places the picture was pixilated, but once again, that was really not a problem as it was only the Ask a Crafter. Hopefully you can iron out the glitches ready for the next time you actually demo something. I’m so pleased you were able to stay out of the cold this time x

    Like

  14. Kathy nice to see you, your very pretty. Hey Lindsey great video picture but looked like you were speaking another language, not in
    sync at all was good for the ask a crafter however the sound on my laptop was up and down. Couldnt always hear Kathy speaking and
    reading the questions and giving her responses. Otherwise your picture quality for you both was clear. Also was a few blips when it
    stopped but you both were still talking.

    You will have to whip up a chain for Lorraines neck to wear her wallet so she doesnt leave it laying around. Glad your enjoying yourself Lorraine.

    Like

  15. I enjoy this no matter what the quality, have your local DIY station take a look at how many followers you have, you should seriously be in syndication! That said you could film from the grocery store and I would watch! I do tend to use the time to straighten up my craft room so I really only glance at you from time to time. I like this better then a voice only pod cast though so please keep this format of video taping, just do it the easiest and least time consuming way for you. Thanks for all the time you take to do this, it is well appreciated by all. ~Diane

    Like

  16. It worked perfectly fine for AAC, since I mostly listen while doing other things. If something really catches my attention, I can rewind and re-listen or watch if needed. I know it takes a heckuva long time to film, edit, upload, etc. I’d continue AAC with the webcam, leaving more time for you to film other how-to segments for us with the regular video camera. Go with what’s easiest and warmest!!! πŸ˜‰ You’ve got 2 great sidekicks helping you out.

    Like

  17. Personally I didn’t care for the recent way you did the video, timing was off, and I don’t like it because sometimes it seemed as you were moving so fast then others you were moving slow. But I will take what I can get, I understand about the quickness of uploading and such, so if you choose to go webcam route, I will just listen and not look. No biggie.

    Like

  18. I was reading the comments over on the YouTube posting and I cannot believe the bit—ng and bellyaching over there. Really! Perhaps I could understand it if they were actually paying $$$$ to subscribe but you are doing this from the goodness of your heart and they are dissing it because it wasn’t perfect!! Give me a break. I hope you don’t, but I wouldn’t blame you if you just said “forget it” to these videos. 12 hours to upload the other way?? and they want you to go back to that?? Would they? I doubt it. Stick to this way and make your life easier and if the bellyachers don’t like it, too bad.

    Like

  19. I started out watching the video thinking, “Man, the video is lagging… This sucks” … And then I started crafting (which is the norm during Ask A Crafter), and suddenly the video quality didn’t mean so much. The audio was good, and I got some crafting done. :). I say keep the web can for Ask A Crafter. If it makes life easier, why not? As long as we still get the good quality for your other videos, this works out! Now off to catch up on some of your videos (don’t know how you manage to post so many so quickly!) πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. Hi from Australia. I love your enthusiasm for your craft. So maybe 2 greedy questions, well 1 question and 1 info.
    Inktensil blocks are under $20 for12 at jerry artarama this week YAY!
    Q: l have made eraser stamp to tart up some plain white sheets to match a quilt cover. Is there a recommendation or frugal recipe for a medium to use. Acrylic and fabric medium is a bit thick and gives inconsistent results. Any suggestions that can be machine washed in cold water? Thanks

    Like

  21. I watched AAC while I was bundled up on the couch about 10 feet from the computer. (It’s -15 here). I thought the quality was fine. We ( your fans) would watch you regardless. The information you share is so helpful. I like Kathy, too. Glad she decided to get over being shy. She has a lot of knowledge to share with those of us who sew or use fabrics in our creations.

    Like

  22. I like the webcam, I know it uploads lots faster for you this way. You give us such wonderful information and I would never want that to stop so just do what is easier for you because I adore the videos no matter which way they are shot.

    Like

  23. When I’m watching something on t.v I keep a clip board next to me and my kindle fire. When those dreaded commercials come on I mute the t.v and with pencil in hand I watch, listen and take notes. I call it my “learning with Lindsay time.” You give your knowledge freely. Thank you. Not everyone does.

    Like

    • I look forward to AAC every Wednesday, and really don’t mind watching it recorded on the webcam. It’s always a long segment, so it’s easier and quicker for you to do it that way. You get to sit in comfort on your sofa that way as well. The tutorials look better with your camcorder though as you can keep everything in frame and in focus with that, and the closeups are really good. πŸ™‚

      Like

  24. I have a request, I was wondering if you can do more tutorials with candle and soap making. I really want to learn how to make them.

    Thank you

    Like

  25. Hi Lindsay!
    Hope you’re staying warm in Maine πŸ™‚
    I’m having a difficult time with craft organizing. Due to living in a small house, I decided to make a crafting area in a corner of my livingroom. I know that is decor faux pau, but I don’t care lol! Unfortunately, I have 2 large windows in that corner that I can’t cover up with shelves or armoires to store stuff. My hubby and I bought an Ikea black desk & dresser. We also bought a Target black metal mesh cart, wire shelving & small bookcase. I’m also using 2 old dark stained oak end tables. My drawers are stuffed, it always looks messy and is a constant annoyance which puts a damper on my creativity sometimes.
    I fiddle around with Cricut, Cuttlebug, Copics, stamping, paper/general crafting, sewing and watercoloring. I gave 5 projects piled up with a mending pile of clothes too. I repurpose/recycle items for crafts. I’m desperately need help with frugal ideas for organizing & storage because my craft are in my livingroom LOL!
    I have musc items for storage: white and black wire baskets, Cuttlebug green, white and black storage containers and 4 ugly out of place brown plastic large containers with black lids. I’m at my wits end, so any suggestions would be helpful. If any of your followers have any ideas, please share them with me. I’m sending out a S.O.S. Thank you so much!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

