I’m Having a Lawrence Welk Moment…DIY Bubble Wand Necklace Tutorial!

Happy Monday folks! Have you ever had so much fun making a project that you make, say 20? That’s what happened to me Friday when I decided to make a wire and bead bubble wand:

DCF 1.0

These really work too! I got the idea from the Jewelry Making Journal but I made mine longer and instead of pricier copper wire I used 18 gauge aluminum from the Hardware store (because it won’t rust) and acrylic (That’s a fancy word for plastic) beads because I love the sparkle and they are lightweight. They can also handle being dipped in bubble liquid over and over again!

DCF 1.0

Watch this video to see how I made them:

Wouldn’t they be awesome party favors or even wedding favors (way better than the tiny plastic bubble bottles!) You could even put a bowl of bubble solution in the center of each table at a party and folks can blow bubbles whenever the mood strikes!

DCF 1.0

One thing I will mention about the hardware store aluminum wire is that there is a thin film of oil or something on it. It’s not a big deal but after making 20 of these suckers my fingertips were black with the grease. It washed off and I could not see it on the wands because it was such a small amount but if you are thinking of making jewelry out of this stuff I would wipe it down with rubbing alcohol to remove any grease first.

DCF 1.0

I hope you give this project a try, it was a lot of fun and a great way to practice your wire wrapping skills. I’ll leave you with a few more photos of these whimsical wands. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

DCF 1.0 DCF 1.0 DCF 1.0 DCF 1.0 DCF 1.0

19 Responses

  1. I love it – what a great idea!

    Like

  2. This is totally awesome, Lindsay! Thanks for mentioning my Enchanted Bubble Wand tutorial – and wow, you took it to an absolutely fantastic new level! I love your creations here – and I know Lawrence Welk would absolutely want several of these. 🙂 Thank you again!

    Like

    • I’m happy to Rena, I got totally lost in your blog the other week, you have so many wonderful tips, ideas and projects to share so I thank YOU:)

      Like

  3. This is a GREAT idea for party favors for a child’s party! I live in Colombia and couldn’t watch the video because of it…but I’m pinning this so I can come back to it when I get moved back to the USA in a few weeks! Thanks!

    Like

  4. What a great idea! Have you decided on a price yet? I am new to the craft sale world and setting the price on items is a mystery. Thank you for all the great ideas and information.

    Like

  5. Wow . . . I LOVE these!!!

    Like

  6. What a timely idea! My children are just on their second easter holiday week and i was starting to run out of ideas/money! Thank you so much for this one.

    Like

  7. How beautiful! The craft fair is going to be so much fun…

    Like

  8. What a wonderful and colorful post! There’s no end to the creative things you come up with. You also take beautiful photos.

    Like

  9. Any kid would be delighted to have one of your beautiful bubble doo dads!!!

    Like

  10. I love the bubble wands. I’ve made a few so far for my granddaugher and she has insisted on helping make her own “special” bubble wand. I need more beads and some ribbon to make more and I plan on having her help me out with them because it really helps out with the fine motor skills with the little ones. My granddaughter is 4 and is my crafting buddy 🙂

    Like

    • wow, if she is 4 and can work the wire that is great good for you for showing her how;) I have twins and when they wer in kindergarden I could not understand why one was so advanced using scissors and the other struggled then one day their teacher confided in me that if Lila saw Maizy struggle with her scissors she would take them and do the job for her, she did not like to see her sis have a hard time LOL!

      Like

  11. Wow. The ribbons you used really complete the beautiful look of these. May I ask where you got them?

    Like

    • Hi maggs, I bought white seam binding and dyed it with homemade spray ink and scrunched it up while it wad wet and let it dry si it was crinkly.

      Like

      • Oooh, I like the idea of homemade ribbons even better! Thanks for all the great tips. I just stumbled upon your blog a couple of weeks ago while investigating gel plate printing, and I’m having a lot of fun checking out all of the fabulous things that you’ve done. Keep on crafting! The world needs more of us crazy artist ladies!

        Like

  12. Made these thanks to the tutorial and they look really cute but for some reason I can only get one or two bubbles out of them….what did I do wrong lol??

    Like

  13. Thank you for your idea and easy to follow video. I love finding unique fun things to make. I apreciate that you share!
    I may be giving away my age by saying this (I was around when women’s rights and gender equality were starting to brew) but boys like to make bubbles too! 🙂
    Maggies Beadery

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

