Tutorial: How to attach ribbon ends

Howdy folks! With all of the wire wrapped pendents I have been making lately I needed a simple way to showcase them. I am going to sell them at a craft fair but I would rather sell a necklace than just the pendent on it’s own. Also I did not want to put anything on them that would detract from the pendant. The answer: Ribbon!

DCF 1.0

 

So with ribbon you can just tie the ends together with an overhand knot (I do when using crinkled seam binding), make an adjustable knot or in the case of this velvet ribbon I used ribbon ends and a clasp. They are inexpensive (a 36 pack was a couple bucks at Joanns), they look elegant and they are easy to use.

DCF 1.0

Here is a video to show you how:

I really like how you can use any clasp you like with the ribbon ends and you can use any ribbon you have that is moderately thick, not so good for sheer ribbon unless you were using a double strand I think as the teeth need something to grab. Also I found a new tree pendant tutorial to make this simpler tree, I’m not sure what one I like better, on this pendant you start by wrapping 6 strands or wire at the top and adding beads for leaves then twisting the trunk together.

DCF 1.0

Well, that’s all for today! I am looking forward to working in my studio today after 2 days of the kids home from school due to the snowstorm. I might even get around to filming the original tree of life pendant tutorial that was requested:) Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

