Quilling: How to store it?

Happy Sunday Folks! I hope you all remembered to “spring ahead” last night. I love it when we turn our clocks ahead an hour to get that extra hour of sun in the afternoon, spring is almost here. Just tell that to the snow that is still on my lawn LOL!  I guess it’s better than mud…wait, we have that too!

DCF 1.0

Today I wanted to share my quilling supply storage. I taught a kids quilling class last month and afterward my supplies were in such a state of disarray. All of my paper strips were in a basketball sized snarl, I almost tossed it in the trash. My tools and supplies were dived between 2 large plastic bins and everything was corralled in a large produce box. This was taking up way to much space. I wish I tool a “before ” picture because the transformation is quite amazing! I painstakingly straightened out all of the papers (it was worse than brushing out a child’s hair with silly putty in it) and I snipped off the binding on the end of the strips. Then I took a clear plastic tube that I had received an order of glass rods in and carefully slid the strait papers in. Anything that hung out I cut off! This might seem drastic but at this point I was a mad-woman who just spent an hour detangling quilling strips.

DCF 1.0

I got the idea because I had some tubes of quilling papers from Joanns that came in 12″ long tubes, brilliant, they NEVER got tangled. I will be saving any long clear tubes for this use since I have a little hand crank paper shredder that makes the perfect sized strips. this way I can store the extras! And all of my tubes fit in my large flat Artbin box:

DCF 1.0

I placed the slotted quilling tools in a clear bag. My quilling comb, paper crimper, quilling board and glueing board (which is a scrap of foamboard with wax paper taped to it) are all in there too as well as any ideas and patterns I have collected.

DCF 1.0

I place finished quilled art in a clear CD case to keep it from getting crushed and so I can easily see it when I want to use it on a card.

This storage solution might not be for everyone but I want my quilling stuff to be portable. I like to bring it upstairs to work on while I watch TV or take it to a crop if I have nothing else to do. I don’t quill that often so the space the supplies occupy needs to reflect that. I hope this helps you corral your quilling supplies. Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

