Crafty Fun with Eyeshadow and Hot Glue!

Have I mentioned lately how much I love the Dollar Tree? Of course I do not love the cheap crap that is imported from China that breaks the second you get it home but it can be a treasure trove of inexpensive crafting supplies. The trick is to keep your mind open and look beyond using the items for their intended purpose. Case in point-shimmery eyeshadow! When I saw this in the cosmetic isle I couldn’t believe how much it looked like Pearl-Ex (one of my favorite crafting supplies) and at $1 a pop i had to try it out. See how it looks on the butterfly on the upper right of the card:

 

The nice thing about the loose shimmering eyeshadow is that it comes with a brush in the cap and it is in a spill proof jar. And yes, it is cruelty free (not tested on animals) I always look for that when shopping cosmetics.

Here’s how to use it:

  1. Stamp image with clear embossing/watermark ink.
  2. Use the provided brush to tap the powder on the design and then brush it around to cover well.
  3. Now take a larger softer brush (any soft brush will do) to brush off the excess.
  4. If desired you can add a fixatif to seal down your design.

 

After making this wonderful discovery I ran into my sons cub scout leader and she wanted to make the boys some “good deed coins” and she wondered if I had any ideas. This is a great idea for kids, they start out with the coin in their right pocket then when they do a good deed they put it in their left pocket. Here is what I came up with:

 

I think these would also look great on a card or scrapbook page! Here’s how to make them:

  1. Squeeze a dime size dab of hot glue on a silicone mat.
  2. Ink up a stamp with clear or pigment ink and place in the glue puddle.
  3. let dry completely then remove glue from stamp.
  4. Dust the “coins” with shimmer eyeshadow.
  5. Seal with clear spray paint.

I used a green hot glue stick for the coins. I was voiding the green glue out of my glue gun and since I hate to waste I made some hot glue dew drops and used them on my card as embellishments. I played along with the sketch challenge at Oriental Stamp Art this week.

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

12 Responses

  1. Wow -what a great tip. Seems to me it would work just like Perfect Pearls Powder and a whole lot cheaper.
    Myrna

    Like

  2. Great ideas as usual, I have to stop by the Dollar Store! Thanks for the tip!

    Like

  3. I wish I had a dollar store near me. Next time I visit my sister in
    Pa. I will have to stop at the Dollar Store near her. Your
    ideas are always wonderful and they energize us to be more
    crafty and try new things.
    Chris

    Like

  4. I love useful cheap, but I love gorgeous cheap even more! Thanks again for the great ideas!

    Like

  5. Again I am amazed at your cleverness and resourcefulness! Fabulous ideas, now I want to trade in my Pearl Ex for eyeshadows! Gorgeous card too!

    Like

  6. wow what a lovely lot of useful ideas, we dont have the stores here and yet to have a glue gun can see am going to have to explore next year these things – may God bless you this Christams and have a healthy happy New year, Shaz in oz.x

    Like

  7. I love all your crafty ideas, Lindsay! Although some times I can’t find what you suggest in the Dollar store – I’m still looking for the foam blocks. You bet I’m going to look for the eye shadow.

    Thannks for your ideas,

    Hugs,

    Carmen L

    Like

    • Hi Carmen, sometimes the blocks are in the toy aisle, sometimes with baby stuff. I’ve seen them a couple times this year, sometimes they are out but they always get them back in. I also found them in the dollar section at target. If you cannot find the eyeshadow at Dollar Tree the Family Dollar also carries it.
      Good luck!

      Like

  8. Brilliant idea! Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

  9. I purchased two of the eyeshadow. Was it hard to apply the two colors on the wings and the body of the butterfly?

    Please explained how you kept the butterfly so neat. Sometimes, I am very messy.

    Thanks,
    TJ

    Like

  10. I purchased some sponge stamps at the Dollar Tree. How do I use them in scrapbooking and making cards?

    I’m am new to scrapping.

    Thanks,
    TJ

    Like

    • Hi TJ,
      Welcome to the wonderful world of scrapbooking! There are a couple of great ways you cn use sponge stamps but first we need to know if you have sponge stamps (like a kitchen of bath sponge texture) or foam stamps (a little firmer similar to craft foam). Both will work but they will have different look. I like to use acrylic paint wioth bith foam and sponge stamps. Put a peice of waxed paper on your work surface and squirt out a quarter-size dab of paint. If tou have a sponge stamp you can dip it right on the paint. Pounce int out a ew times so the stamp is eavenly inked and there is no gobs of thick paint on the sponge then you can randomly stamp the design on a sheet of cardstock. You can stamp a few time before reappling the paint. You can also go in with other colors. When you are satisfied with the results let it dry. Then you can use that full sheet of cardstock as a background paper or cut it up for cards, tags or bookmarks! Best og all you have a one of a kind paper!

      If you have foam stamps you can do this but a foam stamp will give you more of a solid look. Use a foam paint brust to tap paint onto the stamp instead of dipping the stamp in the paint. Try making background paper like I explained. Foam stamp have greater detail than sponge stamps, but the images ar bolder than rubber or clear stamps. Here is something fun to try: Use a paintbrush to apply a thick coat of white glue to your stamp, stamp it on cardstock then sprinkle with glitter. Let dry. If the glitter flakes off then coat the image with clear glue and let dray again then cut it out and adhere it to a card or scrapbook page.

      Please let me know if you have anymore questions!

      Like

Tell me what YOU think!

