Print & Cut Made Easy {with a cricut!}

Today I am going to review Fairy Cut software: a software that allows you to print and cut on your Cricut machine. When I was first contacted to try the software I was skeptical, but within 10 minutes of using the software I realized it was not like any other die cutting software I have used before…and I like it! The most impressive feature of Fairy Cut is the print and cut feature. I have tried to print and cut in other die-cut programs but the results were time-consuming and results were inconsistent. Fairy Cut takes the guesswork (and time) out of such designs, here is a card I made in just a few minutes using the print and cut feature in fairy cut, the cute graphics are from the Sew Craft set from Blackleaf Studios.

Here is a look at what the software looks like and you can see how easy the print and cut feature is:

I have a few tips for print and cut projects:

  1. If you have a very detailed design only print and cut one image at a time. I have noticed when you place multiple images on a mat the cuts can go off the design up to 1/8″. On the above card I printed and cut 3 images and you can see a bit of white outline here and there, I liked the look because it looked like a highlight to me.
  2. Larger images will cut more accurately.
  3. Take time to line the paper exactly up to the edge of the grid on the mat and make sure your design does not extend into the 1/4″ border on the grid, remember the cricut will not cut all the way to the edge but you do need to line you paper up there.

If you like to convert clip art into cutting files Fairy Cut does a very nice job. It will cut and separate colors well using the auto vector tool. Also Fairy cut will import a variety of files such as EPS (all of the clip art sets we sell at MyGrafico contain EPS files), SVG, DFX, AI, PDF, PLD, DPF, JPG, PNG, TXT and WPC (Fairy Cut’s native format.) Also you can export your design to about a dozen different formats compatible with other die cutting and graphic software: AI, PNG, DFX, EPS, JPG, TIF and others. Great for the designer who want to have designs available in other software programs.

I found the software easy to use. I consulted Fairy Cut’s website before trying the Print and Cut and watched one of their clear and easy to understand videos. The videos make learning the software a snap. The softwares interface reminds me of Inkscape (a vector base illustration program that I use to design my SVG files) so that made using the software all the more natural. They offer a free 30 day trial of the software for anyone interested in learning it and do recommend you check out the videos when you want to do something specific.

Another bonus to this software is its ability to cut your computer fonts. I have amassed a huge collection of fonts and that really slows down other die cutting software. With Fairy cut I can quickly open and access whatever font I choose. There is no virtual keypad so you must have an idea of what your font looks like. You might have to hunt and peck until you find the character you want (in a dingbat font for instance) but there is a handy preview window so you can see what you type will look like. If you want to see my system for dingbat organization see this post.

Fairy cut does have a few drawbacks, it can only be used with Cricut machines and a Windows based PC (i.e. not Mac compatible) at this time and it does not allow me to have a design with several pages (I like to save projects separated by paper colors on several pages within one file so I would not do these types of projects in Fairy Cut.) The price of this software is higher too at $99 BUT it says on the website that if you sign up for the newsletter you get a coupon for 20% off.

Bottom line: I would recommend Fairy Cut software to any cricut owner who wants to print and cut with their Cricut machine or have the ability to easy convert clip art into cutting files.

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

