PDQ cards!

Pretty. Darn. Quick. I decided that I needed some more handmade Christmas cards, there always more people you think of after you send out your first batch so I made some extras{22 to be exact} and I did it in less than 2 hours! How you ask? With a little help from my Cricut machine & SCAL2 Software:

I cut the scallop twist cards from my Envelope Bonanza SVG set {2 on an 8.5″x11″ sheet of cardstock} out of kraft cardstock, Then I arranged the mittens, hat {from the Winter Wear SVG freebie} and 2″ circles to fit as many as I can on a mat in SCAL2 and I cut that from 3 different pattern papers. I cut all of the card bases first because they cut very quickly, then while I was waiting for the sheets of hats and mittens to cut I scored/folded and stamped the card bases. Then it was a matter of gluing the die cuts to the cards. Easy Peasy!

PDQ card tips:

  1. Use hot glue, it is quick, cheap and adds a subtle dimension to your cards, best of all you can’t fuss with it, one it is stuck, it’s stuck, move on :)
  2. If you have time ink the edges of your die cuts for dimension, if not skip the ink {and the guilt!}
  3. Use clear bags to mail your cards in. I used 3″x5″ clear self sealing bags from Uline, I love these because I can mail cards in them, package cards with envelopes for sale in them and they are FDA approved food safe so I can package yummy treats in them too! And they are pennies a bag! Using them as envelops as a fun touch of whimsy to the card as well. No worries about having a matching envie either!

Here are my cards in their plastic bags/envelopes neat and tidy! I will leave them in this box near my mailing supplies so I can pen a quick note when needed.

So, are you wondering how much it cost the frugalcrafter to whip up these cards? With the envelope each card weighs in at about 5 cents a piece! I used 3 sheets of pattern paper (from a stack of 180 sheets bought on sale for $10-DCWV), 11 sheets of 8.5″x11″ cardstock (50 sheet pack bought on sale for $2.50-The Paper co.), 2 hot glue sticks (.20) other than that I used a dollar bin stamp and an inkpad. The envelopes were about 3 cents a piece.  Using die cuts saves you $$! [Let’s justify out Cricut Purchase shall we} I must say that I got the paper at JoAnns and the Die Cuts with a View stacks cut really well in the cricut and do not snag like some other bargain paper does.

Here is a look at the Envelope Bonanza template set:

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,102 other followers