High-Flying Birthday Cards!

I never seem to have a premade kid’s birthday party card on hand when I need one (you know, like 30 minutes before said party) so I decided to make up a batch so I will always have some on hand (well, for the next 4 parties anyway!) I used the SVG cutting files from the Up, Up & Away Clip Art Set and the Brand new Up, Up & Away paper pack From Lindsay’s stamp Stuff to make these:

I printed 4 sheets of the Up Up & Away paper at 5″x5″, I love the way the paper looks scaled down! I took 4 sheets of 12×12 cardstock (blue, yellow, green and red) cut them in half and used one if the 6″x12″ pieces of each color for the card bases, then I took a 6″x6″ swatch of each color and arranged them on my 12″x12″ cricut  mat.

then I imported each file from the Up Up & Away Clip art/cutting file kit and broke it apart so I could move the shape to the section of the mat I wanted so it would cut out of the proper color. I saved the scut file for future use (I ALWAYS seem to need kids cards LOL!)

Then all I had to do was load the paper and press cut. I pieced all the parts together with glue and adhered them with foam tape to the prepared card bases. I used decorative edges scissors and paper punches to add a bit of flair to the cards. Here are close ups:

Todays project qualifies for the following challenges: Little Paper shop (die cuts),Patti’s creations (birthday), Stamping Royalty (pattern paper),  Totally Stampalicious (paper piecing) and Wee Memories (pattern paper).

Here is a look at the sets I used today:

When I was making the paper pack yesterday I made this paper but thought the black did not go well with the set but I liked the paper so here you go, enjoy, click on the pic to download.

Now let’s see what the Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff DT is up to today:

Cheryl Gorka DT Coordinator

Shannon Neparko

Margie Visnick

Tracey Allen

Leanne Garner

Tamara Bennett

Cindi Hooks

Micki Harper

Karin Martin

Jennifer Bliss

Rhonda Walker

Diane Bove

Laurel Seabrook

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

26 Responses

  1. Wow, these are fantastic!

    Like

  2. Simply adorable and I love the bright fun colors! Super cute!

    Like

  3. These are turned out super cute! I love how you showed to cut all the pieces at once to save time.

    Like

  4. O wow Lindsay, I love these cards and they look so easy! These new sets are awesome!

    Like

  5. Wonderful Creation!
    Thanks for playing in our challenge!
    ☺ Sandi
    DT Lead Team 1 for Pattie’s Creations Challenge!
    and Pattie’s shop
    Home of Pattieboop and Allie!

    Like

  6. super cute cards.. thanks for playing along with Pattie’s Creations Challenges.. hope to see you again next week.

    Like

  7. Holy cow!!! These are super cute! I love the bright colors. I also love the punch you used for the kite card. What’s it called? I think that’s a punch? Anyway, these turned out fantastic! I need to make up some of these to have on hand to!!

    Like

  8. These are absolutely fabulous!!! So festive!! Thanks for joining Pattie’s Creations Design Challenges this week. Come back next week, use a Pattieboop image and you’ll get two chances to win!

    Like

  9. These cards are so cute! These papers and svgs will be fun to use for scrapbooking!

    Like

  10. very cute set of cards!

    Like

  11. These cards are adorable! I just love the whole color scheme!

    Like

  12. LOve, Love, Love, these! Thanks for the tip on cutting – and thanks for agreeing to help me Monday!!! I can’t wait to try these out!

    Like

  13. Amaazing entries!! Thanks for sharing how you did all the paper-piecing! Thanks so much for playing Wee Memories this week!

    Like

  14. Wowza, these are beyond fabulous!!!
    xxx

    Like

  15. Holy smokes! These are too fun! I love their little size, too! Thanks for playing along with Wee Memories’ Scrappy Saturday Challenge!

    Like

  16. These are adorable. Love the all the images and the bright cheery colors. Awesome job!
    Thank you so much for playing along with Stampin’ Royalty.

    Like

  17. These are fabulous!!! Love the all and the cloud paper is one of my all-time favorites!

    Like

  18. WOW! What great birthday cards! I love seeing how you made them! Thanks for playing with us at Wee Memories!

    Like

  19. […] Posted on November 20, 2010 by thefrugalcrafter I had some scraps left over from Thursday’s High Flying cards project so I made […]

    Like

  20. Cute, cute, cute! Love them all! Thanks for playing at Wee Memories this week!

    Like

  21. What a treasure trove of goodies here…those cards are FABULOUS!!!!

    Like

  22. Oh these look like they were so fun to make… Such bright and Cheerful cards…Thanks for playing along with us at Totally Stampalicious 🙂

    Like

  23. Llove the layout and so colourful. Thanks for playing with us at Stampin’ Royalty.

    Like

  24. Congrats on the Fab 4 !!! Great cards! So colorful and fun!

    Like

  25. ok I truly am ‘dumb’ when it comes to SCAL but I literally had an ‘aha’ moment reading your instructions. THANK YOU!!!! Awesome cards and timeless….. hugs

    Like

  26. Great projects. Thanks for sharing your talents

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

