Ready, get set…Christmas crafts!

OK before you through rotten tomatoes at me it is NOT to early to start getting ready for Christmas. Besides, wouldn’t it be nice to have all of your shopping done by Thanksgiving so you could actually relax and enjoy the Christmas season? That is my goal anyway. In addition to the store-bought gifts I buy I like to make gifts too (no plastic canvas toilet paper cozies either) I’m talking about stuff that people will actually want and use. Check out the easy and pretty calendar I made with the new Homemade Holidays paper pack from Lindsay’s stamp Stuff:

I made 4 of these in the course of an hour assembly line style, the more you make at once the more time you will save. As I was making these I realized that they would make awesome gifts for teachers, coaches and scout leaders as well as the family members I made these for (No one I know in real life reads my blog so I am safe LOL!)

I used 6″x12″ wooden frames meant to hold panoramic photos for my calendars. I bought a ton of these about 10 years ago with grand plans that never happened so this year I am using them up. You can use whatever size frame you want or have. Look around your attic or cellar, a quick coat of paint will make an old frame new! If you don’t have any frames check the dollar store, you can buy small wood frames there, these can be any size you want. If your frame has glass just place it behind the calendar papers so at the end of the year the recipient can use the frame for something else.

Supplies:

Frame, Tear-Off Monthly Calendar (Mine is from SkyBluePink.com), Cardstock, Pattern Paper (I used the Homemade Holidays Paper pack from Lindsay’s Stamp stuff), glue (either hot glue or tacky glue), double-sided tape, embellishments: felt stickers {from the dollar bins at JoAnns}, photo corners, buttons & bakers twine, Optional: Sewing Machine

Gather your supplies, I printed out full sheets of Homemade Holidays paper, to do this just choose the borderless photo setting on your printer, letter size paper and scaling to 100%. Tip: To save money on printing ink try off-brand ink cartridges, I get a set of 6 carts for my HP Photosmart printer (HP02) for $10 through amazon.com and they work just as well as the HP brand ones that are $12 each! Also take your empty ink carts to Staples because you will get $2  for everyone you recycle! It is like free ink!

Since I am using a 6"x12" frame I trimmed my cardstock to 6"x12" and my pattern paper to 5"x11", I used scraps to make the mat for the calendar. Paper punches can dress up corners and edges at no cost if you already have some (although I broke my Fiskars border punch during this project!)

Trim cardstock to fit the inside of your frame. Trim your pattern paper 1″ smaller and adhere it to the center of the cardstock. Use a sewing machine and cream thread to stitch around the edges. Make sure you do not put adhesive near the edge or it will gum up your needle. Adhere your photo over the pattern paper then cut pattern paper to mat your calender and adhere both of them down with double-sided tape. Glue on your embellishments. Place your creation in the frame and you are done! Easy peasy!

Small details really make a big impact: Machine stitching, threading twine through buttons and inking the edges of mats add homespun charm to any project.

This project qualifies for the following challenges:BabyBud (Scallops, buttons, bling), Bee Crafty, OSAAT, Marks Finest Papers, Stamp and Create, TopTipTuesday & Critter Challenge (Christmas), Craft Your Passion, Incy Wincy (anything goes), Craft’s & Me (make a Christmas Gift), Crafty Cardmakers & The Crafty Pad, Stempel Magie (stitching), Creative Card Crew (Punches), gingerloft, SSDS, Humble Pie (buttons), Inspired Crafters & Mami doodles (anything but a card) and Digital Tuesday (use a frame)

Lets take a look at the new Homemade Holidays paper pack from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff:

If you hate to print in color I have created a Bold Black &White paper pack too and I have a new set of clip art with SVG cutting files called Up, Up & Away in the shop this week too!

And now the moment you have been waiting for….the freebie! A fun pack of 9 papers with an 1980s flair!

click the image to download, enjoy! Thanks to Inferlogic for use of the zebra pattern.

Now let’s see what the rest of the LSS design team is up to this week:

Cheryl Gorka DT Coordinator

Shannon Neparko

Margie Visnick

Tracey Allen

Leanne Garner

Tamara Bennett

Cindi Hooks

Micki Harper

Karin Martin

Jennifer Bliss

Rhonda Walker

Diane Bove

Laurel Seabrook

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

42 Responses

  1. Wow, Girl! Every week you surprise and amaze me! Fabulous and fun gift ideas!!! I can’t wait to make a few of these myself! Love the pretty new papers too!

    Like

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your projects this week and teh new papers rock
    🙂

    Like

  3. Love those calendars, such a great gift idea! Thanks for the freebie, the papers are all awesome!

    Like

  4. These are awesome gifts! You are so clever. Love the new papers … ALL of them!!! Thanks for the freebie 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow, what a great idea. Those will be great gifts. Thanks for the papers.

    Like

  6. What wonderful gifts! Great idea. I love all the new papers.

    Like

  7. Wow, those papers printed out great, Lindsay! I love the calendars, what awesome grandparent/family gifts!

    Like

  8. You’ve been busy! You’re a TRUE Wonder WOMAN!!!!

    Like

  9. Your holiday calendars are delightful!! How perfect for holiday gift giving!

    What fabulous additions to the Friends of Speedy the Cat’s holiday challenge!! Thank you for playing along and sharing your wonderful work with us!

    Like

  10. Wow, awesome project and fabulous gift! So creative and I can’t believe you made that many along with designing all those new papers! Thanks again 🙂

    Like

  11. These are stunning thanks for playing along at the crafty pad this week

    Like

  12. Fabulous ABC projects! LOVE that paper!! Thanks for playing with Speedy’s Friends!

    Like

  13. Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

    Like

  14. what fabulous projects..thanks for playing with Speedy’s Friends

    Like

  15. lol you hope no one in real life reads your blog…… those are wonderful. Love the papers and the stitching…you’re right, it does make a difference. The recipients will love these!

    hugs

    Like

  16. Hi Lindsey!

    Great projects as always! I’m glad to see how over at Critter Sketch!

    Thanks for joining Critter Sketch

    Like

  17. Wow great projects! I love all of them! Sorry about Mr. Linky that was my fault. Thanks for joining us at SSDS.
    Linda
    http://cardsbylinda.blogspot.com

    Like

  18. Awesome project! I love stuff like this! I will definately have to try this one! Great idea!

    Like

  19. What a great idea for the photo frame. I’m like you I bought a bunch with great ideas and they are collecting dust. Now I know just what to do with them.

    Like

  20. Wow! I love these Lindsay and your right they would be perfect for gifts! I also haven’t had a chance to tell you how much I love all the paper you’ve came out with! Their gorgeous!! I just may have to scraplift this idea from you for Christmas gifts!!

    Like

  21. These look really fantastic!

    Like

  22. Thanks for the papers. What a cool idea!

    Like

  23. Great project! Very creative! Thanks for sharing with us at Baby bud Designs!

    Like

  24. Fabulous projects that’ll make great gifts.

    Thanks for joining us at One Stitch at a Time this week.

    Like

  25. Love the extra touches you added, like the twine. Sorry you broke your punch- didn’t know that was possible!
    Thanks for the b&w; I hadn’t thought of printing them on colored paper.

    Like

  26. GREAT project, and the papers are wonderful–love the b&w damask!
    🙂

    Like

  27. Wonderful projects and very creative!!

    Just an FYI Our Baby Bud Challenge this month requires a Baby Bud Image to be eligible to win the monthly prize! We do thank you for visiting and hope you’ll come back and play again!

    Happy Crafting,
    Lis

    Like

  28. great gift idea! Thanks for playing the critter sketch challenge.

    Like

  29. Thanks so much! I love having digital papers to print out and these look great!

    Like

  30. Absolutely stunning!!!
    Thanks for joining the fun at Speedy’s Friends.

    Like

  31. ooo, love the buttons lindsay! fabulous projects!

    these would qualify for the Digital Tuesday challenge…frames & a digi element!
    hugs & blessings!

    Like

  32. Fantastic calendars! Thanks so much for playing in our “anything goes” challenge at Craft Your Passion.

    Like

  33. Wow these are great, a make fab gifts. Thanks for joining in this weeks Incy Wincy Challenge. Hugs Shelley xx

    Like

  34. What a fabulous idea for a gift.

    Thank you for joining in with our stitching challenge at Crafty Cardmakers 🙂

    Like

  35. Thank you so much!

    Like

  36. Great work. Thanks.

    Like

  37. These are fabulous you’ve certainly been busy too. Thank you for joining us at Crafts and Me for our challenge this time. luv gina xx

    Like

  38. Wow.! Wondeful article. I like it. 🙂 That is a good idea.

    Like

  39. i’ve done stamped calendars before but this takes it to a whole new level! thanks for this inpiration — and for the instructions and tips. super extra thanks for the papers to download. what fun! xo

    Like

  40. Great presents – your family will love them, I am sure. Thanks for taking part in the Mami Doodles challenge.

    Like

  41. Such fab framed presents !

    Like

  42. Nice looking work, i really love your work…
    Thanks

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

