DIY coasters!

Have you ever had a great idea and then realized a flaw in your plan when it was too late to do anything about it?ย  I planned to have a tutorial on photocopy transfers today, I went to the library yesterday and had the Vintage Halloween Label stamps I wanted to transfer onto tile coasters photocopied only to realize that I forgot to mirror image my designs before they copied them…and of course I realize this AFTER the library closed ๐Ÿ˜›ย  (I would have had backwards words if I did that so with no time to come up with a new project I decided to revive the art of Decoupage and venture onward with this project:

Craft this set in no time with the Vintage Halloween Labels set from Lindsay's stamp Stuff!

Here is how to decoupage your very own coasters:

  1. Print out your designs on a LAZER printer or print them out on an ink jet printer and have them photocopied. The toner in lazer printers and photocopy machines won’t bleed when you paint over it with mod-podge.
  2. Color your images with ALCOHOL based markers such as Bic Markits, Copic, Sharpie, Promarker or Prismacolor. Avoid using a xylene based marker like Chartpack, it will lift the toner.
  3. Closely trim around your designs.
  4. Use a brush to paint a layer of decoupage medium such as Mod-podge or white glue (not the washable kind) on a ceramic tile then place your colored cut out image on top and paint another coat of decoupage medium over it.
  5. Let dry. If you like you can add additional coats of Mod-Podge for added durability.
  6. Put felt, cork or foam pads on the bottom of the tile to protect your furniture.
  7. Enjoy knowing you have the coolest coasters on the block!

This project qualifies for the following challenges: Bunny Zoe’s & Creatilicious (vintage), Cards For Men (decoupage), Craft Your Passion (anything goes) andย  Lil Red Wagon (altered item)

Now how about a freebie? Here is add-on to the Vintage Halloween Labels set, Spider Cider anyone?

Click the picture to download ๐Ÿ™‚

Now let’s see what the LSS design team has for us today.

Cheryl Gorka DT Coordinator

Shannon Neparko

Margie Visnick

Lisa Jurecek

Tracey Allen

Melissa Craig

Leanne Garner

Tamara Bennett

Cindi Hooks

Micki Harper

Karin Martin

Jennifer Bliss

Rhonda Walker

Diane Bove

Tracy Vinson

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

28 Responses

  1. You are a true artist and crafter. Most would have given up, but I love how you made your plan to make coasters work despite the glitch in your plans. These are fun and fantastic!

    Like

  2. I bought the Vintage Halloween Labels set with the last 40% off sale (Sunday?) and plan on using them for wine and beer bottle labels. The coasters is such a great idea that I may need to make a set for myself. Thanks for the idea and freebie!

    Like

  3. How great are these Lindsay!! I love the new addition stamp to this great collection!

    I hate it when things like a simple mirror image foils my plans. But your alternate is fabulous!!

    Like

  4. These are really unusual! At first I could not see how they were decoupage because I tend to think of that as making an image 3D with layers and pop dots- this is more like the Victorian style of decoupage but brought bang up to date! Fab!
    Thanks for joining in the challenge at Cards for Men.
    Hugs, Alison x

    Like

  5. These are just fabulous!Well done on rescuing them – sounds exactly the sort thing I would forget to do too !Thanks for joining us at Craft Your Passion.
    Lisa x

    Like

  6. I’m sorry if this is a duplicate. I thought I left a comment but when I came back to my PC, your page was still sitting here and I don’t see my comment. It has been one of those days. I think I need a drink of what ever you have in that bottle. Ha ha ha.

    Anyhow, as always, I love your project. What a great idea to decoupage the images onto the tiles. I have added this on to my list of things to try. Of course when you are working with images as fabulous as these, how can you go wrong?

    Like

  7. I love the coasters. Thanks for the fun freebie.

    Like

  8. What fun coasters! Bummer about the Library…that’s the sort of thing that would happen to me! they turned out great, in spite of it all.

    Like

  9. What a cool project! I love them all! I would love to know where to buy the coasters….I have looked around but haven’t had much luck yet.

    Like

    • Tamara, they are smooth white wall tiles from the home depot, they are like 4 cents a piece! We had loads left over for a bathroom remodel we never returned:)

      Like

  10. VERY cute! That would be a great gift too,(Can you tell I’ve got Christmas on my mind?!) that the kids could help in making..love it!
    Thanks for the fantastic ideas:0)

    Like

  11. Great coasters! So creative and I love the wine label, too!

    Like

  12. Great idea hun, they look fantastic
    Thanks for joining us at Craft Your Passion this week
    Hugs Shell xx

    Like

  13. Awesome Lindsay! I love how you took an “oops” and turned it into wow!

    Like

  14. OMG Lindsay, THAT is how it goes in my house – always! lol… but love the tutorial about decoupage. Those coasters are awesome!

    big hugs

    Like

  15. I love vintage Halloween stuff. These are awesome! Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Your Passion.

    Like

  16. How cute is this?! Love the label on the bottle, and the coasters. So creative! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful creation with us at Craft Your Passion this week.

    Like

  17. This is such a neat stamp set, Lindsay! And your project today is so cool! Thanks for the freebie. It’s going to be a great addition to the Vintage Halloween labels!

    Like

  18. What a fun project. TFS. Lynne x

    Like

  19. Awesome gift idea Lindsay! They look great. Thanks for sharing. ~Diane

    Like

  20. These are so awesome!

    Like

  21. This is a great idea for a halloween party! Making something like these would surely impress friends and family. I’ll make note of your instructions on how to make them. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  22. WOW.. gorgeous project! great job! I love love love it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for playing with us this week on the CRAFT YOUR PASSION challenge, Good Luck!

    Like

  23. Great gift idea. Thanks for joining us at Craft Your Passion.

    Like

  24. Wow, the coasters are a fantastic idea! Love the new freebie too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  25. What a great take on our vintage theme over on Creatalicious.
    thanks for playing along

    Like

  26. ooooh…how awesome

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

