Why buy the cow…

…when you can get the milk for free?  I came upon this picture and quote from  pad of  ATC papers from Memories in the Making that I have had for a while. I loved the sassy dancer in the picture and used stamps from About Art Accents to make this Valentine for my hubby:

The caption on the vintage image says "Why buy the cow if you can get the milk for free", Stamps by About Art Accents

And here is the inside of the card:

this in on the inside of the card. To print white text on colored background with your computer simply load white paper in your printer, then in your photo software make a new document and fill it with your background color then type over it with white and print. Or you can make a text box using MS word.

I hope it is funny and not lame. I used heart stamps from About Art Accents and I stamped them on textured cardstock and heat embossed them in white so they would look like the iced lollipops you get this time of year. On smooth paper they stamp very clean and crisp. The gold charm and heart paper is by about art accents as well, the houndstooth border is the leftover piece from my card yesterday (shabby houndstooth.)

Here is a tip: When you are die cutting or punching a shape from cardstock cut it from the center of the paper, that way you can use the leftover piece as a photo mat (you will only see the edges so you can get die cuts from the center because it will be hidden under the top layer, or used the leftover piece as a frame like I did in todays card. See how I trimmed the heart paper into an oval? I will use the leftover “frame” on another card, no waste! You can easily get layers and frames for 8 standard cards out of an 8.5″x11″ sheet of paper, thrifty!

Thanks for stopping by and till next time happy crafting!

3 Responses

  1. Haha! I absolutely love this idea!!! i have been struggling with what to do for my hubby’s card. I may just have to case this idea!! Thanks Lindsay!

    Like

  2. This is not lame hun! I think it’s a great card for a husband!

    Like

  3. I think it’s HILARIOUS! Absolutely perfect for a husband – especially for those of us who heard that saying growing up.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

