Recoloring digital stamps and a freebie! {or two!}

Happy October everyone! Hard to believe that September is gone already! A new month bring us a new guest designer at Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff but first, have you ever wanted to print your digital stamps in different colors? Heck yeah! I’ll show you an easy way to go from black to bright, it’s like having a million new inkpads πŸ˜‰

Here is an example of the recolored digital stamps. See below to learn how.

Here is an example of the recolored digital stamps. See below to learn how.

All of the new stamp sets at Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff offer png files as well as jpg files, they give you more versitility and the transparet background allows you to layer images. Let’s learn how to recolor our stamps:

Stamps and paper: Lindsays Stamp Stuff. The Sentiment and the background paper are today's Freebie! See download links below ;)

Stamps and paper: Lindsays Stamp Stuff. The Sentiment and the background paper are today's Freebie! See download links below πŸ˜‰

In the above example the stamp has been changed from black to yellow, the pattern paper was made from recolored stamps as well.

In these examples I added color to colored stamps with my bic Mark its:

After Printing my recolored stamps I added another layer of color with solvent based markers.

After Printing my recolored stamps I added another layer of color with solvent based markers.

Quick and easy, that's my type of card! Stamps&paper: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff

Quick and easy, that's my type of card! Stamps&paper: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff

you can make these cards in a minute since there is no elaborate coloring involved, nice!

you can make these cards in a minute since there is no elaborate coloring involved, nice!

here is how to recolor a stamp:

Step one: Open your graphic editing software. I’m using Paint Shop Pro Photo software but Photoshop elements is quite similar. Open the file you wish to recolor. A png file is best but this will work on a jpg file too (I tried it to make sure;)

Click on the Adjust tab and choose Hue/saturation/lightness.

Click adjust and pich Hue/sturation/lightness. If you are not using PSP look for works like hue, color, channel mixer or red/green blue. you will find there are many ways to adjust the color of your stamp in any of the craphic/photo software you use.

Click adjust and pick Hue/saturation/lightness. If you are not using PSP look for works like hue, color, channel mixer or red/green/blue. you will find there are many ways to adjust the color of your stamp in any of the graphic/photo software you use.

Click the default button and you will see two preview boxes that look the same. Click colorize, then play with the sliders to get the color you want (top slider), the brightness aka saturation (Left slider), and the lightness (right slider). Note if you are using a jpg file you will need to keep the lightness towards light because the fader will effect the background too making it black or grey, with a png file you don’t need to worry as the background is clear.

Here is what it looks like is PSP. You may have faders like I do or you my have boxes where you type how much red, green and blue you want. Just play around until you get the color you want;)

Here is what it looks like is PSP. You may have faders like I do or you my have boxes where you type how much red, green and blue you want. Just play around until you get the color you want;)

I layered the colored leaf stamps over one another (see, because it is a png I can overlap them and you see the colors beneath) to make this free card background paper for you. I even put a “created by” spot on the back for you to sign your name because DT Tracey gave me heck for not signing my cards πŸ˜‰

Here is a freebie for you, print and cut the paper in half and you have 2 card bases ready to go! It is easy on the ink cartridges too!

Here is a freebie for you, print and cut the paper in half and you have 2 card bases ready to go! It is easy on the ink cartridges too!

Download the free card base paper here

Click below to download this Lindsay's Stamp Stuff Free digital stamp!

Click below to download this Lindsay's Stamp Stuff Free digital stamp!

Download the free “So Grateful” stamp here for a png version, and here for a jpg version.

Here is a peek at the Leaf prints stamp set. I included a printable sheet too (not shown) with the sentiments inside the frame as shown in my card samples because I know not everyone has (or wants) fancy software, sometimes ya just want to print and color!

Lindsaysstampstuff_LP_preview

Now lets see what the fabulous Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff DT has cooked up for us this week. I want to welcome Ceal Pritchett as out October Guest DT, I want to thank Ellen Smith for giving us a bonus project this week and big hugs to Shannon Neparko who designed the way cool stamp preview and who has been helping me tirelessly zipping up stamp set files (this chick knows her stuff) and I’m happy to report she is joining the team Full time!

Ceal Pritchett October Guest DT

Shannon *Welcome to the team!

Cindy

Katt

Diana

Margie

Lisa

Janet

Melissa Craig

Kim

Tracey

Ellen Smith AKA β€œTink” September Guest DT Bonus Project!

Now that you are all inspired I want to remind you that we are sponsoting Insparational Card Sketches again (see yesterdays post for my take on the sketch) this week where you can win some Lindsay’s Stamps! Thanks for stopping by and happy crafting!

18 Responses

  1. Love the leaves and that is just the greatest tut ever! Thanks!

    Like

  2. WOWZERS! These freebies are the best yet, I just love this new stamp set, and the easy to follow tut on printing in different colors! And I’m so proud that you signed your cards πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I’m loving that paper! Great work. But I still can’t figure out the coloring thing. I don’t have paint shop pro. I have paint.net and inkscape. Hmmmm….I’ll keep trying.

    Tamara

    Like

  4. Oh WOW Lindsay, all your projects are just simply gorgeous!! I think I’ll have to download the trial of PSE and give it a try. This is very very cool!! Thanks for the tutorial.

    Like

  5. Awesome Lindsay – love the BG papers you’ve created. You know, you could fill an entire page with leaves, create a gradient fill in a new layer and use it as a mask…hmm I think I’ll have to try that out! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. awesome cards and freebies too! love those leaves
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. DUDE!!!!!!!! Talk about feeling the muse – you are a complete and total ROCK STAR!

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for the tutorial, Lindsay. I’ve been wondering about changing colors. I’ll have to give this a try. Yours turned out incredible. This is another great set of stamps!

    Like

  9. Gorgeous cads!

    Like

  10. Hi Lindsay,

    Thanks for the freebie and the recoloring tip. I am really new to photo shop and I gave it a try, It does take a little practice and I understand what you said about background and jpgs. Is there a trick to keeping the jpg back ground white and adjusting the light bar? I know..I want it all. TIA

    Like

    • Hi Debra,
      Try it with a png file, with a jpg you need to keep the color light or the background will get tinted too. Download one of my free png stamps and give it a try, png files have a transparent background so the only thing that gets tinted is the image.

      Like

  11. Thanks for the great tutorial! I’m really into digital images and learning how to “recolor” them was one of my to-do items ASAP. (I had heard it was possible, but didn’t know how.)

    A huge bonus is that I use PSP, too!

    Thanks for all the helpful information you give out!!

    Like

  12. thanks I love fall and the leafs are beautiful

    Like

  13. This is a really super tutorial, plus gorgeous stamps and wonderful cards-as always!!

    Like

  14. I love love love your cards. I’m adding a link from my blog to yours if that is ok with you so I can get my creative juices flowing.

    Like

  15. Gorgeous stuff!

    Like

  16. […] Digi-Stamps – PSE October 21st, 2009 You all know Lindsay did a fabulous tutorial on recoloring digital stamps using Paintshop Pro – so she asked her DT to come up with something similar using Photoshop […]

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

