Mmmmm Cupcakes!

When I saw the cupcake challenge over at the Pink Persimmon blog I knew I has to do it! I never met a cupcake {stamp} I didn’t like and while I am vegan (egg and dairy cupcakes are few and far between) I can enjoy all the cupcake stamps I want and best of all they are calorie free!

Digital Stamps: (cupcakes) Lindsays Stamp Stuff, Rubber Stamp (happy birthday) Stampin Up, Die Cuts: Cricut (Accent Essentails) Cardstock: DCWV
Digital Stamps: (cupcakes) Lindsays Stamp Stuff, Rubber Stamp (happy birthday) Stampin Up, Die Cuts: Cricut (Accent Essentails) Cardstock: DCWV

To make the box I used my Cupcake Tree digital stamp and this weeks mini Pizza Box Tutorial from Splitcoast Stampers. The plain box only took seconds to make with a scor pal and a 6″x11″ sheet of cardstock.  I think I will keep this pattern handy to display and gift my handmade jewelery in.

Mini Pizza box is 4"x4"x1" and a snap to make!
Mini Pizza box is 4"x4"x1" and a snap to make!

I used another digital cupcake stamp on the card too.

Cupcake Stamp: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff
Cupcake Stamp: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff

I love the embossed edges of the cardstock. I did that by cutting a 3 1/2″ scallop square (shift lock pressed) with my cricut and the Accent Essentials caridgete then I cut the same shape with the shadow button also pressed then used a bit of glue stick to stick the smaller shape to the back side of the larger and I ran it through my Big Shot manual die cutter with a couple sheets of rubber gasket. Here is a diagram of the sandwich I used. I don’t have a cuttlebug but the sandwich should be similar, The cardstock method works great in the big shot, you will have to experiment a bit with other machines.

Here is the sandwich I use to emboss with cardstock in my Big Shot/Big/Kick. You may need to adjust it a bit for tother die cut machines but use this as a starting point.
Here is the sandwich I use to emboss with cardstock in my Big Shot/BigKick. You may need to adjust it a bit for other die cut machines but use this as a starting point. If you are not getting a good impression you can shim it with a sheet or two of cardstock between the rubber and the bottom plexiglass cutting plate.

Now here is a cool trick. Say you have some digital stamps all printed out or stamped images from a friend, you can still cut them into shape with the cricut (this method works on photos too!) first load your mat and scratch paper into the cricut and cut the shape you want. Unload the paper and remove the cut shape and lif up the leftover piece but do not remove it all the way. Center your stamped image that you want to cut under the empty cutout, remove the scrap paper, load the mat and cut the same shape again! Easy Peasy. However if you are using a traditional rubber stamp it is easier to cut first stamp later 😉

Thanks for stopping by…I think I might have to whip up a batch of vegan cupcakes (or stamp a few more at least)…till next time happy crafting!

8 thoughts on “Mmmmm Cupcakes!

  1. Lindsay! You are just a total rockstar! I love the cupcake tree – that is sooo cute.

    I love making stuff with the scor-pal… I just need to get on it! You’re such an inspiration!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.