Happy Earth Day! (a wee bit late!)

To celebrate Earth day and also because they have a tree themed project over at Caardvarks I thought I would share this tree mini album with you. The best part is you are recycling! Instead of cutting the pages out of chipboard I used a cereal box.

"chipboard" tree minibook to cut with scal/cricut, download links below.

"chipboard" tree minibook to cut with scal/cricut, download links below.

I used a postmark stamp from Close to my Heart and circle punches to make the tire swing.

I used a postmark stamp from Close to my Heart and circle punches to make the tire swing.

I had a leftover tree so I made this card. More recycling! The clear base for the card was plastic packaging material that my Scor Pal came in!

Digtal stamps: Lindsay Stamp Stuff, Rubber stamps: SU!, Paper MME, DCWV, Other: Plastic Packaging

Digtal stamps: Lindsay Stamp Stuff, Rubber stamps: SU!, Paper MME, DCWV, Other: Plastic Packaging

The inside of the clear card.

The inside of the clear card.

I used my brand new Dear Deer stamp and  Primitive Bird digital stamps as well as the Trendy Trees set from Stampin Up. I colored the digi-stamped images with colored pencils and blended them with a Prismacolor clear marker.

I designed it in Inkscape so you can download my files can cut it with your cricut if you have SCAL software. I cut the tree shape out of a cereal box using the deep cut blade depth 5.5 and the pressure on my cricut on max (or 5) and yes it is baby bug compatible 🙂 Don’t forget to change back to your regular blade and housing and set the pressure to medium (or or 3) to cut the paper. To cover the back of each page either flip the shape in scal or place the paper pattern side down on the mat to cut. Here are the download links:

Download the tree shape  SVG file here, the treetop svg here, and the tree trunk SVG here. You can get a printable template here.

Tip: Cut the tree shape from the cereal box first then line up the trunk and tree top shapes on the virtual mat in scal to make sure you have the right size for the pattern paper before you cut.

Until next time happy earth day and happy crafting!

22 Responses

  1. So cute! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Great card thanks for sharing

    Like

  3. Thanks! That is just so cute! Now i just need to make time to do it! I’ve been so busy playing with Inkscape lately, I haven’t created much! but thank you!

    Like

  4. What great mini-album, love it, thanks for sharing, Els

    Like

  5. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Saskia
    Netherlands

    Like

  6. How clever are you … what fabulous recycled creations … and I love how you covered the back too … fantastic!

    Like

  7. Another excellent project. I really love the card with the acetate front. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. Just sent you an email to your Lindsayweirich@ymail.com account.

    LOVE these btw…they are lovely! Happy belated Earth Day! then again…Earth Day is EVERYDAY!
    😛

    Like

  9. So cute! Love it! ~Olena~

    Like

  10. So cute! Love it! ~Olena~

    Like

  11. Sooo adorable Lindsay!! Love that tree and that cute little deer and bird digi stamp!! Awesome!!

    Like

  12. What clever projects – love them.

    Like

  13. OMGoodness – these are absolutely amazing!! I love it!

    Like

  14. These are too cute! Love the idea of recycling, and love your new deer stamp! I made some ATCs with your Chick and Egg stamp. I need to post them…

    Like

  15. These are adorable! Fabulous projects!

    Like

  16. Thanx for sharing these files.
    These are too cute!
    Ans

    Like

  17. HOLY GUACAMOLE!!!!!!!!!!!! this is absolutely amazing and totally gorgeous!!! i am IN AWE. seriously. WOW!!! i adore this, unreservedly. ♥♥♥

    Like

  18. LOVE that clear card….WAY cute little scene!!

    Like

  19. You are SOOOOOOh amazing! Love this tree. It’s pure perfection! :O)

    Like

  20. I love your tree album! The tire swing bought so many good memories from when I was a kid! The words ‘good times’ on the swing are very appropriate!

    Like

  21. Good grief, Lindsay, these are just awesome!!

    Like

  22. Darling! Thanks for sharing, just what I was looking for!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

