“Copic” Marker Technique

I sure have been hearing a lot about copic markers lately. Copics are a solvent based marker similar to a sharpie and available in a myriad of colors. I saw a you tube video where a lady made a card using Bic Mark-It markers (also solvent based) for the same effect. I just so happened to have the set of 36 Bic Mark-It markers so I gave it a try. I bought these to write on slick surfaces like plastic or metal. I always just used water based markers or watercolors for paper. The Markits have an advantage though, they blend, they don’t leave streaks or “lines” in your work and they are not water based so they won’t warp your paper and you can use them over water-based die ink stamped images w/o them smearing the ink underneath. I used a clear dollar stamp from JoAnns, stampin Up Basic Black ink and the Mark-Its. Work one section at a time. First color the dog’s body light yellow brown. Add more of the same color where you want more depth. Add a darker brown to the edges for a shadow. Continue in the same fashion for the rest of the card. Have a great weekend!

Copic technique using Bic Mark-Its

Copic technique using Bic Mark-Its

10 Responses

  1. That’s a cute card! LOVE the colors, too! I’ve been in and out of town…mostly out…so I will be catching up on a few things like blogging, visiting blogs, photo editing, etc. I just posted a quick one of my dogs with my shades one! lol

    Like

  2. I love this little stamp. I bought it at Joannes also. Thankyou for demonstrating the Bic Mark-It’s coloring technique. I too bought these markers and got a great deal on them @ target. I’ve been looking for different ways to use them. So, thanks again!

    Like

  3. […] to get the look of Copics. If you want to read my faux Copic tutorials you can check them out here and here. I just got my Jerry’s Artarama catalogue in the mail yesterday and their […]

    Like

  4. […] Halloween stamps! They screamed for my faux Copic technique (you can read the tutorial here: part 1, part 2) I thought they would made nice treat boxes for Halloween. Until then they will serve as a […]

    Like

  5. […] used my Faux Copic Technique to color the cute little witch and my cricut with SCAL software to design the card. Here is another […]

    Like

  6. Do you use the “fine” tip markers? Thanks

    Like

  7. I use the Bic Mark it pack of 36, they have a good pint but not as fine as the fine tip sharpies that will will use also if need be. I also use a Prismacolor colorless blending marker that has two tips, a fine and broad, so I can press the mark it against the blender tip and grab some color that way to color with a fine line. I hope that helps. I sugust to see what colors you use a lot and want in a fine tip and see if you can get them in a Sharpie or a Prismacolor or Copic that way you are only shelling out “Big Bucks” for markers you are sure to use!
    Good Luck!

    Like

  8. Thanks for the great tips using bic mark its. I have been hearing so much about copic markers too, once I saw the price I stopped listening, I just can’t afford them. But I do have a 36 color set of the Bic sitting doing not much these days, yippee- they’re going to be put to work! I’m definitely going to try this now!

    Like

  9. Thanks so much for getting us started with the Copic technique in this way. I first started with this before I dove in, I bought a set of Mark-Its and a Copic blender pen which last me for a long while. Then I slowly started picking up Copic markers to fill in the gaps.
    In case you are slowly picking up Copics and want to know where the Bic Mark-It’s fall in colour, I sat and figured it out and made a Bics vs Copics colour chart…it’s helped me quite a bit!

    http://spikescreativeside.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/bics-vs-copics-colour-chart/

    Thanks again for encouraging me to get started this way!

    ~Spike

    Like

  10. What i do not realize is in reality how you are not actually much more smartly-liked than you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You understand thus significantly when it comes to this subject, produced me in my opinion consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women are not involved except it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs great. Always handle it up!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

