Let’s Paint Magnolias in Watercolor!

Howdy folks! Magnolias are one of my favorite flowers so I was happy to create this painting tutorial when it was requested. Here I will show you how to draw and paint them…don’t we all need a bit of springtime right now?

If you have any questions just let me know! Remember the best way to learn to paint is to paint! Don’t worry about failing, it’s only a piece of paper and nobody has to see it if you don’t want them too. Even if you are unhappy with an attempt don’t toss it yet, it always improves with age, I think the painting fairies visit at night and spruce it up a bit because it always looks better in the morning! Thanks for stopping by, stay warm and til next time happy crafting!

11 thoughts on “Let’s Paint Magnolias in Watercolor!

  1. This is my first time viewing your site that a friend told me about. Just thought I’d make a comment from Mesa, AZ that we are too warm here and will be warmer by June. 82 in my house last I looked. Turned on ceiling fans today. I’ve never tried to paint so glad to view you today.

    Like

  2. Beautiful Magnolia Lindsay. Drawing is not something I feel comfortable with but I sure love watching how easily you draw these pictures and how lovely you color them, mesmerizing.

    Like

  3. Hi Lindsay,
    I am watching your inktense video (the fall leaves). What is the difference in inktense pencils and watercolor pencils?
    Thanks for the help!

    Like

    1. Ok, never mind, you just answered my question. It sounds like the inktense cant be lifted like traditional watercolor pencils.
      Thanks!

      Like

  4. Lindsay, thank you so much for the magnolia tutorial! I followed along with the video, and the result was beautiful. My magnolia is a bit lopsided (I need practice drawing petals…), but otherwise, I’m really happy with my finished piece.

    I have a feeling I’ll be coming back to the video to try out slightly different compositions and color variations, but still using your general instructions as a guide.

    Thank you for getting around to my request, I really appreciate it!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.