Inktense on Fabric! Quilters Rejoice!

OK, I’m not a quilter, I don’t have that kind of patience but I’d heard that some quilters used Inktense pencils on their quilts so I had to have a go at it! I also really wanted to try it because for Christmas I gave one of my best friends a small tin of inktense pencils and she is a talented quilter and seamstress so I wanted to make sure it worked well before I told her about using them on fabric. Well, I really like the results on my craft-fair tool apron. What do you think?

Supplies:

Inktense pencils by Derwent

Textile medium (or any acrylic sealer like mod-podge)

a firm paint brush

a foam brush

black acrylic paint or fabric paint

bold clear stamps

An iron or heat gun for heat setting fabric

some natural fabric to stamp on

a spray bottle of water and also a bucket of water to clean brushes in.

Directions

  1. Stamp designs with black acrylic paint, heat set.
  2. color with pencils
  3. spritz with water and apply textile medium to lock colors
  4. let dry and heat set.

Watch the video for helpful hints and full tutorial! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

11 Responses

  1. I love it when you show how to use “tools” in new ways! I have some canvas bags that I bought on sale and I have been saving them until I got an idea of how to decorate them. This is perfect! Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. That’s pretty cool. I wish I had know this technique when I painted an outdoor shower curtain.

  3. That was beautiful Lindsey and not hard at all. Now I have to get, let me see, black paint, Inktense pencils and a canvas apron. Oh I also
    need some large Butterfly clear stamps, love butterflies. Great way to
    use the pencils. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Awesome! I just got a set of these pencils for Christmas! Can’t wait to try this!

  5. Hi Lindsay, This looks like such fun! I was wondering if you could do this technique on the stretched canvases for a wall hanging. I’ve been wanting to do one for my craftroom but just haven’t found the “look” I’ve wanted until I saw this. Also, I know you said your large butterfly stamp was discontinued at Oriental Trading, but could you share the size of that stamp so I can get a better idea of dimension? Thank you so much!

    • the largest butterfly is 6″x6″ and by Tattered angles, the one from Oriental Trading is about 4.5″4.5″ or so:) As for stretched canvas you can use it but the stretch canvas is primed and slicker to try and color on but you can by stretcher frames and stretch your own raw canvas.

  6. Lovely idea that I am going to have to try out as soon as possible.I recently saw a relatively expensive,well for me it was,kit for printing with the inktense blocks.I have a tin of these but use them very little so far and did not realise you could print with them.Can you show us how to start printing using the blocks and any ideas you might have for printing with them on paper or fabric.Thank you as I know you are very busy!!

    • Oh, you will tempt me into buying the blocks as I don’t have them yet but was just eyeballing them the other day with some xmas money burning a hole in my pocket LOL!

      • Sorry to lead you into temptation….but perhaps you won’t feel too bad if you do go out and splurge now….no pressure though!!!!!

  7. I just bought aprons at Michaels today to try this technique. Should I wash them first?

  8. Such a cool idea! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,093 other followers

