15 Minute Scrapbook Page! {rainbowy goodness!}

Happy Weekend folks! Just a reminder that today is the last day to get 40% off everything in my shop Lindsay’s stamp Stuff. The sale is over at midnight so don’t wait to stock up on digital stamps, party printables, clip art, cutting files, templates and Learn to Paint kits! Speaking of painting, here is a quick and fun scrapbook page made with white cardstock, a black marker and watercolor paint:

DCF 1.0

This is really easy to make, in fact I made the page in real time, I thought about pausing the video while I cut out photos, traced the letters and wrote my journaling but apparently I have no trouble thinking of stuff to gab about while preforming these tasks. I hope I shared enough scrap-booking tips with you during this video to make it worth your while, if not, let me know and I can certainly make the next scrapbook video shorter. At least I can prove it is a 15 minute page (not counting drying time that is LOL!)

As I mentioned in the video I went to a crop yesterday. I also mentioned on the video how I like to print my photos (I print them at home using a photo collage software so I get the layout work out of the way and it is really quick and easy to scrap) I was able to get 8 more pages done during the 4 hours I was at the crop and that is counting the 45 minutes I chit-chatted with the girls and ate Chinese food! Printing photos collage style makes it possible. When I got home I decided to organize my photos and go through the big file of memorabilia I have been collecting over the past few months. It was an over stuffed unruly mess. Here is how I sorted my photos and ephemera:

  1. First I pulled out all of my full sheet 8.5″x11″ photo collages and sorted them by year. I am pretty caught up so I had a few 2012 sheets and a lot of 2013 photo sheets.
  2. Then I put regular 8.5″x11″ sheet protectors in my albums. I use a 3 ring style 12″x12″ album by WeRMemory keepers and it accommodates the 12″x12″ page as well as the standard office supply ones.  I slid the photo collages in the page protectors.
  3. I sorted any memorabilia (maps, ticket stubs, programs, brochures etc) that went with the photos and placed them in the page protectors behind the photos. This way my photos can be enjoyed while they are waiting to be scrapped!
  4. Then I pulled out any lose photos in my file folder. There were a few from earlier years. Many of the photos were leftover from pages I already scrapped. If they were digital I put them in a pile for the kids to scrapbook (more on that pile later) and if they were 35mm prints I put them in my family photo storage boxes because I do not have a digital back up. I found 3 events that I still wanted to scrap so I put them in their own pocket in the file folder to scrap some other time because if I put them in the year they belonged in I would forget to do it because I consider pre 2012 done! 🙂
  5. I sorted all of the stuff I pulled for the kids into a pile for each child and put each pile in a  large manila envelope with the child’s name on it. Then I put the envelopes on their craft table with their albums. They will get a nice surprise the next time they go to scrapbook!

I really feel good about this system because my family can enjoy the photos while they are waiting to be scrapped. If I decided tomorrow that I never wanted to scrap again they still have a photo book to enjoy. If I feel like spontaneously scrap-booking I just need to grab an album, my on the go bag and a stack of paper and I am all set. It feels good to be organized!

What are your best scrapbook organization tips? Do you feel caught up or hopelessly behind or do you just like to hop around and scrap what moves you at any moment? I’d love to hear! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

10 thoughts on “15 Minute Scrapbook Page! {rainbowy goodness!}

  1. looks amazing and I am not just saying that because I made the scrapbook cut and I am officially in your family scrapbook!! I will have to make the same page for ours!!! The Rainbow Pants is lookin good!!!

    Like

  2. I love your page! I am a s—-l—o—w scrapbooker. Sometimes I’ll take a couple of days to do a page. Crazy I know and I must speed it up some or I’ll never get done. I have to quit fussing to make it “perfect!”

    I know what you mean about the photographer never being in the pictures. I learned that the hard way when I look back at my old family photos- very few shots of my mother – very few shots of me with the girls – lots of the girls, few of me. Now we go somewhere I make sure I hand the camera to Joe (who hates taking pictures) and get some of me or we ask a stranger to take our picture.

    Like

  3. The photo collage idea is fantastic! And you made some really astute observations regarding all the picture taking venues – I totally agree with you regarding always having a paper copy of everthing! Technology can fail at anytime – so it is always best to have all our important memories preserved on paper!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.