Make Art, Not Trash! {and my 5 year blogaversary!)

Holy moly, can you believe that I have been blogging for 5 years! Well, maybe it feels longer for you LOL but for me it seems like just yesterday I sat down at the computer and opened a wordpress account! Writing this blog has helped me develop as an artist and opened the door to so many wonderful opportunities from freelance art and design work to writing my own column for Scrap & Stamp Arts. The lovely comments from readers make my day and the support I feel from you is overwhelming. I have received sponsorships from many art & crafts companies which I am thankful for but also I have tried to stick to my frugal crafting roots by offering up low-cost and recycling projects (like the one I have for you today.) This is my 1300th post, how am I doing? Here is a card I made for the occasion using some prints from Styrofoam trays that were headed to the trash:

DCF 1.0

Some people had a hard time obtaining the ingredients to make a gelatin plate or finding the rubber gasket (I posted a tutorial on printmaking on plumbers gasket last week on YouTube, that video will be at the end of this post) I used for another printmaking project. Then I remembered how much fun it is to make prints from Styrofoam trays. All you need is a Styrofoam take out tray (cut out a flat panel with a craft knife), acrylic  paint, a brayer or paintbrush and some mark making tools. Let’s go!

I used the prints I made on this easel card. The stamps I used are by Pink Persimmon. Tip! Flip your clear stamps around on your block and stamp with the backside for custom shadow stamps like I did for the 3 circles on this card!

DCF 1.0

As promised here is my rubber plumbers gasket printmaking video. I scored a bunch of 12″x12″ sheets of rubber for 99 cents each at a hardware store, I have die cut it into custom stamps, cut it down to fit my Big Shot for an embossing pad and used it for various household projects. Plumbers buy this to cut custom leak-proof washers. I guess I was lucky to find such large sheets cheaply because others have had trouble obtaining it. You are not limited to what you can make prints on, some ideas are: Plexiglas (or plastic packaging, scuffing it with sandpaper is helpful), silicone mats, glass (be careful!), EZ cut sheets, and if you look around with a creative eye I bet you can find more ways too! anyway, here is the video, it is very much the same as my other printmaking videos, just with a different materiel as a base. I don’t blame you if you don’t watch the entire video 😀

Thanks again for sticking with me over the past 5 years of blogging, I hope I am still at it in 5 more! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

 

35 thoughts on “Make Art, Not Trash! {and my 5 year blogaversary!)

  1. I love the print that looks like planets in the sky. The card is really cool – super retro! Congratulations on your 5th blogaversary! 1300 Posts is an incredible feat – you have so much energy its nuts!

    Like

  2. Hi Lindsay!
    Happy Blogaversary! You have been a special part of my first year of retirement. Each morning for the past year, you have started my morning with smiles, fun, and amazing ideas!! Thanks for all you do! ♡

    Like

  3. Happy Blogaversary Lindsay! I am mostly a lurker around your site but I do love some of the ideas that you have come up with over the years. Here’s to another 1300 posts!

    Like

  4. Happy Blogaversary! 5 years and 1300+ posts! Wow! So grateful I found you last year. I look forward to your posts everday. I’ve learned lots and have played with many of your ideas. Thanks for helping find a use for the stuff I’ve accumulated over the years:)

    Frugal indeed! Its great when I can shop in my craft room and make something new.

    Thanks for all you do and for being you – fun, creative, generous, adorable and hilarious!

    Sending you love and blessings and wishes for many more posts,
    Marie

    Like

  5. Congrats on your blogoversary! 1300 is an awesome number!

    I am recycling today too. I was given a stack of promotional posters made from some nice heavy, slightly textured paper. I’ve been wanting to make a gift for a friend, so decided to tear the posters in half and bind them into a book for her to use as an art journal! I sewed the half sheets together into an 81/2×11 book and covered it with a tyvek envelope I’ve had lying around for a while. I just used modpodge to glue it on. I love it so much that I’m going to get more of these posters and make another for myself!

    I will definitely be trying your technique with the styrofoam trays too!

    Hope your family is all doing well too.

    Like

  6. Thanks for sticking with it for five years!! Happy Blogaversary! I feel like we are so privileged that you share so many wonderful tools, methods, and materials on the cheap for us to try. Your ideas are so full of wonderful color, and you are so enthusiastic it makes me want to try almost everything you show!! Lol!! Thanks for all the fun!!

    Like

  7. Congratulations, 5 years, that’s awesome! Thank you so much for keeping this blog! I just love to read your blogs as there is always something useful to try out. Your videos are very entertaining as well.

    Like

  8. You’re doing just fine in my opinion. Happy Blogaversary. I look forward to many more entertaining, educational and inspirational posts. Thanks for the first 1300 posts. 😉

    Like

  9. Happy Blogaversay! I really love reading your blogs and have learned so much from you. Thanks for taking the time to share with us.

    Like

  10. Big hugs and kisses on your blogoversary – five years!! It’s as long as I’ve been involved in paper crafts! Thanks to your videos, I’ve been improving on my stamping and learning a lot of crafty goodness from you. Thanks for all the inspiration, Lindsay!

    Hugs,

    Carmen L

    Like

  11. Happy blogaversary Lindsay!!!! I’ve been with you for most of that time and have loved the journey and all the inspiration you’ve provided!!! Here’s to another 5 at least!!!

    Like

  12. Happy blog anniversary to you. Thank you for all the tips. Love watching your videos. What was the name of the lady you mention in the video that is on youtube. and one onther when you made your plate did you put it in the ice box or just out on your desk to set up. I wish you many more years of blogging and crafting. Have a great week and how is your hubby doing.

    Like

    1. the lady who had the tutorial on making the tools was UKmaryanne at scrappystickyinkymess.blogspot.com she is great! My plate sat up on the table but it won’t harm it to set up in the fridge either. Hubby is improving daily;)

      Like

      1. Thank you for getting back to me. I checked out the blog for maryanne lots of good tips. good to know about the plate. And so glad to here that your hubby is getting better everyday.

        Like

  13. How are you doing, you ask?  Well, you are such a part of my life, it’s hard to imagine a world without your lovely posts and videos showing up in my email!!  Truly, thank you for all you do– I so appreciate you!!  I love your emphasis on creativiity, and not just buying the latest “must have.”  At one time I subscribed to lots of blogs.  But most I’ve unsubscribed, and of the others, I often just delete.  But yours always get read, and always puts a smile on my face.  So, THANKYOU!!  Hugs!

    ________________________________

    Like

  14. So glad to find your blog just a couple of days ago! Easy masking one layer card caught my eye July 6th on Pinterst on my birthday! Love the card, can’t wait to try masking myself! So, happy 5 year anniversary to you! You’ve encouraged me to have fun, & experiment! Love how you share your enthusiasm & energy! Hope to be following your blog for many years! Pat

    Like

  15. Happy blogaversary! I completely echo Morgan! You absolutely amaze me every day with all the goodies you come up with and I always enjoy your spunk! I do have to admit that I miss your jingle 😉

    Like

    1. jingle? what do you mean? am I jingleless…or do you mean the “no music at the beginning of most videos because Lindsay’s too lazy to edit them” thing?

      Like

  16. 1300 blogs?! Wow!! I’m just getting started with 6 or 7 and I’m tired from those! Congratulations, Lindsay, on 5 years…..what vim, what vigor, what stamina! Keep up the great and inspirational crafting!

    Like

  17. Hi Lindsay, Happy Anniversary to you and to your blog!!
    5 years, it’s so impressive!! After all these years, you’re still fun and creative, so enthusiastic (not sure about that word lol) and so fresh!!!
    Your good mood make us smile and all your tips and tricks are really helpful. So thank you for these 5 years (I wish I had discovered your blog earlier…).
    Love your technique with the plumbers gasket, I’d like to find one but I’m not sure of the french translation, I guess it’s a kind of “joint”.
    Long live to your blog!! 😉

    Like

  18. Congratulations on 1300 blogs and your 5 year anniversary. Wow!!! I love all your creative ideas…. Love Ya’ Patricia

    Like

  19. Happy Anniversary! I’ve enjoyed many of your ideas because I also like recycling. One that I can pass along to you is to take leftover pieces of matboard and cut and glue on smaller pieces to make a custom design, then paint it with matte medium to make it waterprooof. When you’re tired of it, you can glue it onto something as a decoration. I also take matboard to styrofoam meat treays and glue geometric shapes from foamies on them as a stamp, then I turn both over and make a “handle” out of folded duct tape to make it easier to stamp with. Costs almost nothing, and they are your unique design.

    Like

  20. I found your blog and am amazed by all you do! I am sure at one time I was able to get lots done but not any more. I am interested in buying some of your digital images but am a little apprehensive about not having the stamp in my hand. Can you help me with how you do a zip file – do you put them on discs? I have been stamping for around 20 years.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.